Standard

Occupy Blogoshpere 18

My contribution this week has been prompted by recent, unrelated posts by three great bloggers that I follow.

In ‘Trash Talk‘, on her blog, ‘Dragon’s Dreams‘, Corina discusses the effect of plastic waste on the ocean, urging us to think about what happens to our rubbish – plastic in particular. You can read her informative and thought provoking article here.

It certainly made me think….

We have an excellent refuse collection system, here on The Isle of Wight – anything that cannot be recycled (and most things can) is turned into fuel pellets, or compost and sold on.

I shop locally, buying home-raised produce, as much as possible and grow herbs, fruit and vegetables to eat and store and share.

My car has a 998cc engine and – although some may consider a Harley Davidson a luxury – we’ve owned The Sportster for over ten years. We traded in a thirsty sports car for it and Martin uses it as his everyday mode of transport. He’s currently ‘up-cycling’ our 50 year-old classic car; hobby/art-form/British eccentricity rolled into one. (Who says that conservation has to be boring?) And, while it’s off the road, it’s not consuming any fossil fuel at all!

We walk to work and back again, rarely travel off the Island and haven’t taken a vacation since we moved here – why would we when this is the perfect holiday destination, with so much going on?

We drink tap, not bottled water, never throw good food away and re-use our shopping bags. We’ve insulated our old house, so that it takes less energy to heat, have a fuel efficient boiler and low energy kitchen appliances and lighting.

I use natural cleaning products In the home – white vinegar, bicarb, non-detergent washing balls – and organic pest control in the garden.

Most of these measures are driven by thrift as much as social conscience – but it’s great to know that ‘being mean’ is now considered ‘Green’.

Which brings me to the second blog I’d like to share. Judith, author of ‘I choose how I will spend the rest of my life’, posted That Green Thing – musing that Eco-awareness is not a new invention. We lived frugally, in days gone by, because we had no choice; that was just the way things were. And, on reflection, it was a more healthy way of life, for us and for the planet. Judith’s article and the comment thread that accompanies it, is an insightful read – even if you are not a ‘grumpy old woman’ harking back to simpler times, (like me!)

In her poem, Irrevocable Trust Gayle (‘Bodhirose’s Blog’) has published her take on our relationship with Mother Nature. Her words – and the clever way in which she uses them – are uplifting and encouraging. And I only have to look outside my window, to know that they are true.

Although I live close to a road, I’m surrounded by healthy trees. Thriving on emissions, they mop up polluted air. Plastic-eating bacteria have recently been discovered in the ocean and polyurethane degrading fungi in the Amazon; evidence that life – even at basic levels – is able to adapt to any environment. Hope indeed!

Taking the carbon footprint test on Corina’s blog confirms that I’m consciously reducing my impact – but there’s always room for improvement. I’ll continue doing all I can to respect and protect planet Earth so that we – and future generations – can delight in it’s abundance.

‘Occupy Blogosphere Thursday’ was started by Souldipper, to give this planet a much needed shot of fun, support and positive energy. While she takes a short break, I’m helping Amy out.

If you would like to help spread the light, please mark your post ‘Occupy Blogosphere Thursday’; add the link: http://wightrabbit.wordpress.com/2012/05/31/ and make a comment below, including the URL link back to your own contribution. I reserve the right to remove any comment or link that I deem inappropriate. Thank you :)

22 thoughts on “Occupy Blogoshpere 18

    • I love these amazing synchronicities, maryrose – we have thought of trading in the Harley but it’s just too much fun! Thank you for your analogies – they make me smile :)

  1. This is what I call teamwork! Jacqueline, I am so moved by your gesture, your generosity and your gentleness. Thank you for your encouraging email – my attention have been elsewhere temporarily and you so lovingly “gave” me space and time that I needed.

    Jacqueline, if anyone wonders about the power of the Occupy, your kindness is living proof.

    We would pass each other on the street since we’ve never met, but our hearts may try to jump out of our chests!

    • Thank you for your lovely comments, Amy! You’re welcome – I am passionate about counteracting negativity in the world. The Blogosphere is put me in touch with ‘twin souls’, like yourself and together we can light up our little corner and send out positive vibes to the rest! As Corina said in comments to an earlier Occupy post, the power of 1+1=infinity. It’s great to have you back! :)

  2. Pingback: Favorite Quotes: Life | "On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

  3. Pingback: Favorite Quotes: Living Life | "On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

  4. Am so glad that you are carrying the torch while Amy’s attentions are elsewhere. Team work at its best! And yes, we each have work to do. Posts like this encourage us each in our own corner of the planet to be care takers.

    • Thank you, Joss! I passionately believe that we should use the blogosphere right now, to spread the light. Amy has laid so much groundwork that I wish to give as much support as I can, while she takes care of herself. Besides, I love researching and sharing my Thursday posts with my blogging family! :)

  5. Beautiful post, Jacqueline. Sometimes the “greenest” things for the planet leave more “green” in our wallets ~ reducing, reusing, downsizing, turning down the thermostat in winter and up in summer, upcycling, etc..

    Walking is a triple win ~ better for the planet, our wallets, AND our waistlines.

    • Thank you, Nancy – although we have no need to turn thermostats UP here. No need for Aircon, either, it’s not that hot for very long, so we just open doors and windows! Our cleaning jobs give us physical exercise – vacuuming stairs, sweeping, mopping, picking litter up – AND they pay US! Win/win all round! :)

    • That’s a pity, it is an important issue in this country. We have to be mindful of our waste, because we live on a small island and haven’t got the landfill facilities. I have been keeping up with your progress, although I haven’t commented of late. My daughter-in-law’s family live in PE – although many of them have moved to the UK now, I think she wouod like to come back (with my son and granddaughter). So I find your posts really interesting and informative and wish you the very best of luck in your new home! :)

  6. What a great post for the Occupy Blogosphere, Jacqueline..I had forgotten you were going to mention my piece..a nice surprise when I started reading..thank you! Corina’s piece too is very important..she always has informative and meaningful topics on her blog. Don’t think I’m familiar with Judith’s blog..will have to visit. Beautifully done!

  7. Thank you very much for the mention and for linking Judith’s and Gayle’s blogs as well! It is so good to know there are other “kindred spirits” out there trying to save the planet, too. I loved the quote on Judith’s post: “Use it up, wear it out, make it do, or do without. ~ New England proverb” <—that's so true! And I wish we all had to sign a contract with the Earth, like Gayle mentions in her post. If we each do our part, surely we can at least slow down the damage humans are and have been doing. :) Maybe someday there will be more of us than them (savers vs. polluters). Just knowing there are many of us already gives me hope. Thank you for sharing and keeping that hope alive, Jacqueline!

  8. Than you Corina – the link between all three posts that week struck me as being important responses to the ‘gloom and doomsayers’. As you pointed out, so eloquently, we must all do what we can to preserve our planet. Individually that might seem like an impossible task, but with growing consciousness and the help of Nature, I believe we will get there! :)

  9. Thank you Jacqueline for the mention in your post. I too feel strongly about the damage we are doing to this wonderful world in which we live. We have strict rules about recycling here but it will be a long time before we get through to everybody. Would you believe that some apartment buildings don’t even have a recycling centre. And we are (mostly) becoming litter conscious although this morning on my front patio I picked up a pamphlet – which might have been blown there by the wind – and a beer bottle. How do we get through to the bottle throwers?
    Thank you also to the links to the other two blogs. I am going over to read them now. :)
    And I love the Isle of Wight. Haven’t been there for about 30 years but just know it is still as lovely. :)

    • You’re welcome, Judith! There’s a lot of litter in Britain too – I wouldn’t feel comfortable dropping my rubbish in the street and walking away, we were brought up to put it in the bin, or take it home. Our town has a zero tolerance policy for drinking in public, which I’ve seen the police enforce – so we rarely see bottles or cans. Mind you, that might change next weekend, when the Isle of Wight festival is on – the forces of law and order will have bigger fish to fry, than arresting a lager-drinker in the park! The Island is a magical place – still quite unspoilt. We don’t mind the festival-goers, they bring much needed business in! :)

Leave a Reply

