What’s a ‘Scrumble’?

I’m all fired up with enthusiasm. So excited about the possibilities I’ve tapped into that I don’t know where to start. My heart is pounding, my brain racing – and not simply because I’ve just finished my second (huge) mug of coffee.

It’s all down to ‘scrumbling’ – a word I found in a book on crochet. Not very rock and roll, I agree, but that single word has given me creative licence.

‘Scrumbling’ is freeform crochet (and knitting – but that doesn’t ‘grow’ quickly enough for me). There are no restricting rules to observe, no patterns to adhere to. Experimenting with conventional techniques, you simply follow your instincts and see what happens. And – judging from the illustrations in my book and further research online – the results can be stunning; the process liberating.

Thinking about it (and I have been, almost constantly since I discovered it), the concept of scrumbling could be applied to almost every area of life – relationships; childcare; cooking; interior decoration; landscape gardening; obtaining qualifications; building a career…..

I’ve always felt that – by not doing things the way they are ‘meant’ to be done – I was a failure.
Now I can happily describe myself as a ‘scrumbler’, my mantra being ‘You’re supposed to…but…’.
If only I’d known sooner that this is, in fact, an art form.

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

Leave a Reply

