Getting Better

For over a week now I’ve been laid low by a sneaky virus.

Persistent dull headache; aching joints and muscles; alternating chills and fever; supersonic sneezing fits; runny nose; prickly eyes; nausea, fatigue and dizziness. I’m sure you get the very unattractive picture. Most frustrating of all is my complete inability to think straight – or think at all, now I come to think of it. I’ve barely been able to cobble together a blog post, other than to publish a Lao Tzu quote on Thursday, for ‘Occupy Blogosphere’ (see previous post.)

As ever, there’s a hidden blessing, in my tale of woe. Even minimal movement left me weak and being forced to rest gave me the opportunity to read and post comments on my favourite blogs – from my sick bed, or wrapped in a fluffy blanket on the recliner in our studio (thank Jobs for iPad!) Then I followed up links to other blogs, by writers in New Zealand, India, Canada, Germany, the United States…. A sot of virtual ‘gap year’, crammed into a few days off work. Excellent!

So, I was delirious very happy to wake up this morning feeling better – not totally restored to robust health just yet – but there is a distinct improvement. This gives me hope that normal brain function will shortly be resumed. (Well, normal for me, anyway.)

Writing this (even on my touch-pad keyboard) has made my the insides of my elbows ache. So I’m going to publish it, pile on thermal layers and venture out into the sunshine in my Secret Courtyard.
Happy Sunday!

20120226-115218.jpg

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

11 thoughts on “Getting Better”

  1. Hi Jacqueline, your courtyard looks divine. Glad you made it out into the fresh air, it always helps. I did some tidying up and clearing out of the greenhouse today. I have been having those same symptoms. Thought it was old age creeping on. I’m sure there have been some strange viruses lurking, now you’ve confimed that for me. Keep enjoying your courtyard, you’ll soon be on the mend.

    1. I love my courtyard, Susan – it was one of the magical surprises that ‘sold’ the house to me. It’s a bit bare at the moment, but I’m just about to go out there again and start to tidy it, ready for the new season. Trust you have escaped the lurgy – I’m on the mend now, but progress is slow!

    1. Thanks, Amy, I’m finally feeling as if my head belongs to my body! I love that little courtyard, it’s so sheltered and private. Steve Jobs is my hero, for making connection with other like-minded souls so easy!

  2. I’m hoping by now, you are feeling much better….sounds like a very nasty flu bug bit you! I love Lao Tzu and the Tao te Ching…I’m sure your quote is a very meaningful one.

  3. Thank you, I am beginning to feel like my ‘old’ self now. The quote from the Tao te Ching was directed towards the 1% – ancient wisdom on the futility of needing to control!

Leave a Reply

