Occupy Blogosphere 9 – Time Out

For the past couple of weeks, the UK has been experiencing unusually warm and sun-filled days. Last Sunday we put our clocks forward an hour, to British Summer Time – another winter over, but I felt weary.

‘Grab your hat and sun cream,’ The Artist said, ‘I’ll take you on a picnic.’

Turning my computer off, I shut the door on pressing chores and went out into the light.

He drove us to the West Wight – ten minutes from our house.

We wandered through an ancient wood:

20120329-103415.jpg

We strolled along the shore:

20120329-103500.jpg

We counted the millennia, in the strata of a cliff:

20120329-103645.jpg

We ate pork pies and sandwiches, sitting on the sand.

Drank lashings of ginger beer.

Dodged frothy wavelets, for a while.

Then we came home, refreshed. 🙂

* Photographs by The Artist on iPhone 3G.

Every Thursday we OCCUPY this space, giving this planet a shot of fun, support and positive energy. To find out more please visit Souldipper’s Blog

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

21 thoughts on “Occupy Blogosphere 9 – Time Out”

  1. Thank you…
    we all need to turn off and step outside…
    Thank you for the beautiful reminder
    I like your photos!

    Take Care
    )0(
    maryrose

    1. Thanks, maryrose! When you only work part time it’s easy to forget that everyone deserves a break from routine. We are very lucky to be able to be in the position to do this, at the drop of a hat – it feels like playing hookey! The photos came out really well,
      Take care, too, Jacqueline 🙂

      1. I know …and i took a long one, plant shopping today …its 88′ here in Texas, so it is a beautiful day…
        thanks again..i really did enjoy your post
        )09

  2. Love the photos, thanks for the “lashings of ginger beer”…Enid Blyton’s Famous 5 memories 🙂 and reminding me of how I miss pork pies:( and how my American hubby insists on pouring gravy on ’em instead of mushy peas…

  3. Hi, Claire, glad you got the Famous 5 reference – we always use it when we’re drinking ginger beer. Gravy on pork pies? That’s just wrong! 🙂 Glad you liked the photos – I got my inspiration for this piece from them.

    1. Hi Susan – sadly no smugglers in caves – but I did see a small boy repeatedly hitting a metal spike with a real hammer.we suspect he was probably a mini-werewolf learning how to use a stake to kill vampires. We’ve watched ‘Being Human’, that’s how we know! 🙂

    1. It was a good thing to do, when we did it, Joss. We’re on holiday this week and it’s raining, (but the gardens are happy with that!) the photos turned out really well, given that they were taken on a first generation iPhone! 🙂

  4. Thanks for sharing your lovely outing with us! Those pictures are just beautiful and I know you had a great time, just “being”. I dislike it that it is already so warm this early in the year, but have to agree with you that I’m glad Winter is done. 🙂

    1. Thank you, you’re welcome! The warm weather has abandoned us here, right now, but nature promises more sunshine in the future. Winter seemed to pass quite quickly for me, this year – but I’m happy to be moving on to lighter days now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

