Occupy Blogosphere 14

Three weeks ago, in Occupy Blogosphere 11 I wrote about the changes I’d made to our main bedroom; how cosy and inspiring it was. By the time we’d finished, it was too dark to take photographs. I promised myself that I’d post pretty pictures as soon as I could.

But I never got around to it.

I was going to explain why the following week – but events at work incensed me so much, that I wrote posts about that here and here, instead.

Now that the work situation has been resolved, I can return to why I still haven’t shown any photos of our new, improved bedroom.

On the Sunday morning, following the change-around, I woke early and went to the bathroom, looking forward to snuggling back under the duvet for a little while longer. No such luck. As I padded back to bed, my feet got wet. At first I wondered if Summer had left us a liquid calling card – but it didn’t smell of cat wee and she’s never done that before, so I checked the glass of water beside my bed. It was full – that could only mean one thing.

Our bed was leaking!

We’ve slept on water-filled mattresses for more than fifteen years and this is not the first time that one has sprung a leak; the manufacturers include repair outfits, so it’s always a possibility. Contrary to popular belief, a punctured waterbed does not cause a tidal wave, flood the room below or send you surfing down the stairs in your pjs. You can actually unscrew the filler cap and bounce up and down on the bed without spilling a drop. Freaky!

On inspection, ours had clearly been leaking slowly, for a quite a while and the inner lining had scrunched up, allowing collected water to seep through the spongy sides. There was a time when this would have been a major drama but I’ve changed my point of view.

Apart from the fact that I was forced to forego my lie-in, there was no damage – the water hadn’t run through the floorboards, the bedding was only damp around the edges and I was planning to wash the rug anyway. And we’re fortunate enough to have a spare bedroom, with a comfortable double bed – albeit buried under rolls of Christmas paper, winter woollies, piles of clean laundry and the cat who isn’t our cat.

When I thought about it, my over-riding emotion was relief – I’d been fearful of this happening for a while as we’ve repaired it several times already. Martin said he felt the same, adding that now we could go ahead and have the walls in our room plastered. Apparently he’d been figuring out how that could be managed, with the heavy waterbed in situ.

So we’ve decided not to rush ahead and buy a replacement mattress, (unable to locate the source of the leak, we’ve thrown the old one away but kept the base and the drawers.) Instead our friendly plasterer has given us an estimate and agreed to start work in a couple of weeks. Which gives us enough time to prepare – we’ve already started stripping off the polystyrene sheets and lining paper, put up by the former owners. I’ve always wondered what horrors might lurk underneath this but the plasterer pulled off a strip and the walls look sound – bringing the overall cost down, considerably.

A niggling fear has been dismissed and another job will soon be crossed off our ‘to-do’ list. When it comes to decorating the room, we’ll have a smooth canvas and can allow our creativity full rein – we’re already tossing a few ideas around. And – compared to genuine suffering in this world – how lucky are we to own a waterbed; to have sufficient funds set aside for the work, to be fit and able to do some of it ourselves? It’s turning out to be a win/win situation all round.

As I said, I would not always have thought so. There have been times when I focused on the negative, allowing situations to bring me down. Instead I’ve made a conscious decision to accept minor inconveniences like this, as part of the yin/yang of life. I’m ‘going with the flow’, (pardon the pun) and grasping the opportunities that open up.

As a wise friend (The Artist?) once told me, it’s all a matter of perspective.

Use it, or lose it!

Every Thursday we OCCUPY this space, giving this planet a shot of fun, support and positive energy. To learn more about this movement, or to join in, please visit Souldipper’s Blog

20120503-131223.jpg

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

12 thoughts on “Occupy Blogosphere 14”

  1. What a great transformation, Jacqueline – of both the bedroom and YOU! Negativity simply makes matters worse. What we think, we conjure – so keeping that positive outlook truly brings us the results we want and need. Methinks the Artist and you have nicely conjured a highly manageable answers to questions neither of you had to voice.

    We can do the same in the world. Thanks for your welcome insights.

    1. Thank you, Amy – A colleague once remarked that I always seek out the positive in every event, I can’t seem to help it! Although my mind didn’t always work this way, I’ve had to train it – with Martin’s help. At first he had to keep reminding me but now we seem to be more in synch – and our world is a whole heap better! πŸ™‚

    1. Yes, Joss – it’s taken nearly half a century for me to learn what’s truly important and what’s merely inconvenient. My world is definitely calmer and happier now! πŸ™‚

  2. I felt your calm as I read this…
    and took a deep breath…wanting some of it….LOLs
    my water pump on the well went out, got fixed
    and in the middle of my shower last night the switch burnt out…
    I did manage to get all the shampoo out of my hair…
    and rinsied before it completely shut off…
    going to the well house at 10ish in the night in the country can be an experience…
    but …I felt the serenity that always surrounds me on my little acres here
    so…after checking, yep the switch arced as i flipped it on,
    i wandered outside for awhile….beautful night….
    thank you as i am drinking my coffee, I have to take a tree drawing to a friend
    who is learning to “read” pictures, I didn’t the well house will be here when i get back..
    ( I do wish I had your artist to paint me a tree though, this one is hmmmm..I am no artist LOLs)
    Thanks Jaqueline….your smile is contagous..hopefully so is your calm

    Take care…
    )0(
    maryrose

    1. Thanks maryrose for the fascinating insight into your world – sounds a lot like the small farm we used to own in Brittany. The stars are so much brighter when there’s no light pollution – we loved standing outside, looking up at them. I’ve not heard about ‘reading’ pictures – I’d love to know more! I suppose the point is that you paint them yourself – otherwise the reading won’t be for you, but for the artist! πŸ˜‰ I am calm and I do try to send that out to the world – thank you for picking it up πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Gilly, we’ve ripped half the lining paper off and already the room is looking brighter. The magenta material is a duvet cover – it is fabulously luxurious, though it was actually a bargain! πŸ™‚

  3. This post is FABULOUS, Jacqueline.

    When we keep things in perspective, life flows more smoothly . . . and we don’t go surfing down down down just because our bed has sprung a leak!

    1. Thank you so much, Nancy! For me it has been a lesson in attachment (or not) to material things. And actually, we are sleeping more soundly on the conventional bed in the spare room – so we may not even replace the water bed πŸ™‚

  4. Or not, in this case, Sally! It takes a while to get your head around the concept – but once you do, they are really comfortable and warm. I think we may go for something different next time, though!

Leave a Reply

