Occupy Blogosphere 15

Today I’m sharing a You Tube video for the first time – fingers crossed it works!

The original song – satirizing  conformist middle class attitudes and the development of suburban housing estates – was written by folk singer/songwriter and political activist, Malvina Reynolds, in 1962. Her friend and fellow activist, Pete Seeger, recorded it the following year.

I was only eleven at the time it became an international hit but I remember it clearly as being catchy and appealing, with apparently child-like lyrics and an insistent tick-tock rhythm.

Even then I was beginning to sense the sinister implications of ‘going along with the herd’, of adopting conventional attitudes and aspirations, without question. Maybe that’s why I have always thought ‘outside the box’?

Fifty years after it was written, the irony behind the lyrics is as incisive as it was when they were penned. Perhaps even more so – which is why I have chosen it today.

I discovered this version – by the amazingly talented Canadian Indie band, Walk Off The Earth – this morning. The video is stunningly clever and ultimately chilling.

Enjoy!

Every Thursday we OCCUPY this space, giving this planet a shot of fun, support and positive energy. To learn more about this movement, or to join in, please visit Souldipper’s Blog

12 thoughts on “Occupy Blogosphere 15

  1. Oh I love this. I do the Light up the Blog-o-tingy too. I’ve never heard this before – it’s wonderful. Thanki you for this lovely shot of positivity today.

    1. Thanks, Jacqueline, it is a quirky song and I think all the cardboard furniture/ornaments etc. in the video are amazing! I love your Occupy piece this week – but I still can’t comment or ‘like’. It sounds more like a day trip than a simple bus journey – what fun! 🙂

  2. Perfect Occupy tune, Jacqueline. I’ve not heard it before…where was I when Pete Seeger was doing this one? Here’s to all of us stepping out of our Little Boxes! “Think Outside The Box” with a new twist! 🙂

  3. It reached 40 in the American Billboard ratings at the time, Amy, but maybe it was a bigger hit in England? My mother played the radio all the time while working in the house and garden, so that’s where I would have heard it. And it certainly affected the way that I saw things (although I have lived in a couple of houses made of ticky-tacky, for economical reasons.) I would encourage everyone to jump out of the box and stamp on it – don’t allow ‘them’ to tell us how to think! 🙂

  4. That song was the theme song for the show W.E.E.D.S . . . loved it then, and loved it today. We need to remember to “think outside the box.”

    Thanks, Jacqueline!

    1. Ah, yes! That programme was scheduled erratically here, not every week, at the same time, so I only caught one or two episodes. I love this version – the group are exceptionally talented and definintely ‘outside the box’. Thanks, Nancy! 🙂

  5. That was REALLY cool! I liked the song and am amazed at the creativity behind making that whole video. Wow, thanks for sharing this. 🙂 The message is good, too – wish more people realized the impact of having such a consumerist (“ticky-tacky”) mentality!

    1. Thank you, Corina. My son turned me on to Walk off the Earth a couple of weeks ago – they are so talented and creative and have promoted themselves virally, through the Internet. I’m hopeful that the economic crisis will encourage more folks to find contentment in simple things, rather than accumulating ‘stuff’, to make them happy.

Leave a Reply

