Occupy Blogoshphere 16

The ‘Occupy Blogoshphere’ movement, started by Amy at Souldipper, has been running for four months now. Over the past fifteen weeks, I’ve followed her brief to inject a shot of positive energy into the planet. This week I’ve decided to review why this is important to me.

I first heard that 1% of the world’s population controls 99% of it’s wealth some years ago. That they have been planning – for centuries – to reduce global population by engineering wars, economic crises and famine, seemed like just another conspiracy theory. (Recent events have proved otherwise – Amy has posted information, useful links and videos on her blog.)

Concluding that there was little I could do about it, I concentrated on developing a positive attitude and a spiritually centred way of life. I read self-actualisation books, practiced yoga, t’ai chi and meditation, learned healing Massage and held the faith that ‘good’ would ultimately prevail. But was I truly part of a swelling universal consciousness or simply deluding myself?

Reading Amy’s blog – and others like it – reassured me that I’m not alone in my beliefs. So, when she started ‘Occupy Blogoshpere Thursday’, as a protest against the 1%, I decided to give it my best.

To my surprise I have discovered that there are fringe benefits. Making a commitment to contribute keeps me searching for positive messages, to inspire my next ‘Occupy’ post. I’ve learned a great deal from my research and find working to tight deadlines energising.

The ‘stats’ on both of my blogs (this one and Tao of Scrumble ) are steadily improving. It’s fun to interface with my readers directly (and sometimes instantly), by means of conversation threads.

I’ve discovered many co-incidences between myself and other bloggers – Jacqueline, from maturestudenthanginginthere for instance. In addition to sharing the same first name, we have both studied for degrees by distance learning, whilst working – hers in Health and Social Care, mine in Social Housing. She hopes to complete hers before her fiftieth birthday, whilst I achieved my qualification twelve years ago, when I was 48. We share a number of other connections – the most unusual being that both our husbands have rebuilt classic cars, using kits by the same designer – Nick Green. Theirs is a NG TD, ours a NG TA. I was so excited when I read her blogpost about it!

Here’s a picture of ours:

20120517-205440.jpg

Sixteen weeks on, I’m glad that I accepted Amy’s challenge to Occupy the Blogosphere and to connect with others doing the same, every Thursday. I like to picture our sparks of inspirational energy, zapping across the Internet – lighting up and lightening up Our World 🙂

Every Thursday we OCCUPY this space, giving this planet a shot of fun, support and positive energy. To learn more about this movement, or to join in, please visit Souldipper’s Blog

24 thoughts on “Occupy Blogoshphere 16

  1. Neat car! As for the Occupying the Blogosphere, I hope the movement grows even larger. Thanks for doing your part to spread the light and make the world a better place. 1 + 1 into infinity = infinite possibilities! 😀

    1. Thank you, Corina – I plan to write more about the car soon. My positive outlook has earned me the label ‘Whacky Jacky’ in the past but I can’t help it – I can’t stay miserable for long, these days. It seems to me that your attitude is much the same and I truly appreciate your support! 🙂

      1. Hi, I love the car and have a TF myself. I would be interested in knowing more about your car and would appreciate an email to discuss

    2. Thanks, Corina – it’s great to know that the movement has so much support! I wrote a post inspired by your article on trash and added the link,, intending to publish it this week. But, at the last minute I changed my contribution, so will post it next Thursday instead 🙂

  2. isn’t it wonderful the connections, small and large, that come about through blogging and especially when we share what matters to us. You and Amy have both been an inspiration these past fifteen weeks.

    1. Thank you, Joss – it’s an interesting challenge, which stretches me to come up with something different each week. I do appreciate my widening circle of cyber-friends – you’re right up there with Amy, as two of the first contacts I made! 🙂

  3. Oh he’s a beauty. I showed my husband a picture and he was thrilled. There aren’t many of them around. I love your shot of positivity. I too really look forward to writing my Light up the Blog-o-sphere post on a Thursday. You right it does encourage you to be more aware of the positives in our lives. Thank you so much for including me in your post. I’m very touched – on top of that your a Jacqueline too!

  4. All the best people are Jacqueline’s, Jacqueline! 🙂 I’m glad your husband liked the car – but it’s about to be radically altered, again! It’s a pleasure to add the link to your blog in my post as your blogs are a joy to read – even if I can’t always comment!

  5. What an affirming post, Jacqueline! I, like you, have decided the best thing I can do is to live the most positive life that I can…it does make a difference. And now you’ve found you’re not alone in this endeavor. There are many, many people out there like us wanting to bring about change for the better.

    I found that we’re about the same age too…but I’m not a Jacqueline….I’m a Gayle! 🙂 A beautiful car that your husband restored too… And thanks for the visits to my blog…I’ve been missing in action lately but may be on my way back. 🙂

  6. Thank you, Gayle, it’s good to know that we ‘women of a certain age’ can do something together, through the Internet. I love your poetry – it stirs me! I think many of us have withdrawn a little of late, to rebalance and replenish our energy. So glad to have you back, now! 🙂

  7. Every week, I read another of Amy’s Occupy Blogsphere post .. I keep saying I am going to participate in it — and yet, 16 weeks (amazing) has flown by, and I haven’t specifically designated a post for such. I need to correct that for week 17!! Thank you for the incentive!!

      1. Guess my dilemma is I do not know how to set it up … do I write specific poetry with acknowledgement of Occupy Blogsphere? or just attach to my post that it is Occupy Blogsphere? or …? or ….? 😀

      2. Hi Becca! You can copy the ‘slogan’ from one of Amy’s ‘Occupy’ posts – or design one of your own, post your contribution then go to Amy’s and comment on her post, leaving a link to your page. If she hasn’t written one that week, then you can come and add your link on mine. Does that make sense? We’d love to have you join! 🙂

    1. Thanks, Pete, it’s important not to lie down and let them stick it to you – if only for your self-respect. Being part of this movement has been a great motivator for my blogging – I have to conjure up at least one post a week! You are welcome to join in on a regular/casual basis! 🙂

Leave a Reply

