Occupy Blogoshpere 20 ~ one day late!

20120614-121012.jpg

Today ~ courtesy of my son, Lee and his lovely wife, Tracy ~ I present my granddaughter, Grace.

Grandmothers everywhere will understand this:

Born on 12th December 2010, Grace is now eighteen months old. Beautiful, bright and full of wonder, this perfect little being ~ who has christened me ‘Amma’ ~ lights up the planet, with her smile.

She pesters her Daddy to call me on Skype ~ pointing at my profile pic and saying my name ~ and, when I answer, she claps and squeals with delight. She shows me her toes, eyes, knees and Charlie Bear; sings ‘Wind the Bobbin Up’, with all the actions and turns round in circles until she’s dizzy, collapsing in a giggling heap. Then she picks herself up, licks my face on the screen and waves ‘bye bye, Amma!’

When I travel to the mainland for a visit, she is just as excited to see me ~ climbing onto my lap for a cuddle, showing me new skills she’s learned. When I pull out my mobile to video her she strikes a pose and grins ‘cheese’, then runs to the sofa, where I’m sitting, to check herself out on camera.

When first born, she looked like a tiny saint, praying for world peace:

20120614-112842.jpg

But ~ growing up with smartphones and touch pads ~ she’s becoming a techno-babe.

Lee has just set up an email account, in Grace’s name, so that the family can send her messages. She’ll read them when she’s sixteen ~ a virtual cache of childhood memories, stored away as they happen, so that we can all revisit them later. A personal time capsule, in progress ~ what a brilliant idea!

This, then, is my first contribution:

Amazing Grace,
Always remember this: You are beautiful and loved, beyond measure!
Love, Amma xXx

And, before I press ‘send’, I’ll print out a hard copy to keep, just in case. πŸ™‚

20120614-124319.jpg

The Occupy Blogosphere movement was started by Amy, author of Souldipper’s Blog, to light up the Blogosphere with a shot of positive energy, each week. To read her most recent post ~ and for more information on how to join in, please click here: http:souldipper.wordpress.com

18 thoughts on “Occupy Blogoshpere 20 ~ one day late!

  1. Okay…how did this happen. I am not a mom. I am not an ”amma”. Yet I sit here with tears and lumps. Grace, you are such a beautiful child – inside and out obviously!

    1. They do, Gilly. I never thought I could feel this much emotion for anyone other than my own children. As Grace’s Mum is South African, I was ‘Omar’ at first, but my son couldn’t help tellling her I was ‘Grandma’ (like he called my Mum.) now she can speak, Grace has merged the two names into one very special one. I love it! πŸ™‚

  2. As a Grandmother myself to a girl of 18 mths old 3rd of Dec 2010.. Yes they are special.. And your granddaughter is so beautiful .. And aren’t they so intelligent as they grow these days.. Much quicker than my own two when they were growing.. or at least thats how I feel.. She is talking already and stringing words together.. We grandparents are very Proud… aren’t we πŸ™‚ xxx A very special little Girl.. xx ~Sue

      1. I think maybe we are all old souls.. Just some have gained a little more wisdom along the way than others Maybe πŸ˜‰ .. Hope you enjoying your Sunday. ~Sue

  3. I echo what the rest have already said – she is precious and beautiful! Those EYES! My goodness, no wonder you’re smitten. πŸ˜‰ And what a fabulous idea about the e-mail “time capsule”! Although, I have to admit, you’re a smart woman for printing out a “hard copy” just in case…you never know if the technology will be around or not (and we know that paper books, etc. can last a LONG time!) Better to be safe. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing with us, J!

  4. Thank you, so. Much, Corina – your beautiful comments have made me remember something. My gran always used to say I looked just like her (I certainly do, now!) and everyone says that Grace reminds them of me. What awesome continuity! πŸ™‚

  5. Truly a precious little being your family has been blessed with, Jacqueline…so very pretty too. I’m expecting my first grandchild (a girl) any day now. I’m so excited to join the ranks of all you other grandparents. One of my brothers told me it’s unlike any other kind of love…even that for our own children…I can’t imagine! Thanks for sharing the sweetness.

  6. Thank you, Gayle, she’s more gorgeous every day ~ and we’re also blessed with 3 yr old twin grandsons. The love I feel for them can’t be described and it hit me completely by surprise, when I first held them. You have wonderful, exciting times ahead, when your granddaughter graces us with her presence! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

