Occupy Blogoshpere 21

June 20th, was our fourteenth wedding anniversary, although Martin and I have been together for longer.

To celebrate, we sat out in our garden, until the sun dropped out of sight. Then we retired to our studio, with a couple of drinks and ~ ambient music in the background ~ reminisced about our special day.

I could write about traveling to the registry office, with my mother in a white Rolls Royce; having to ask the guests to lend us the cost of the ceremony, (having changed our money into Francs for our honeymoon in Brittany, convinced we’d already paid everything up front.) Of Martin punching the air as we were pronounced man and wife, then driving us, in our ribbon-bedecked vintage car, to a hole-in-the-wall where I queued ~ in my wedding dress ~ for cash to repay our debt.

It felt golden and magic and neither of us will ever forget it. But our memories are private and too numerous to recount.

And don’t ask me what’s the secret of a happy marriage ~ I’m just cruising along, one day at time. It works for me. 🙂

So, instead, I’ll post this ~ the ending of our favourite poem:

On Marriage

But let there be spaces in your togetherness,
And let the winds of the heavens dance between you.

Love one another, but make not a bond of love.
Let it rather be a moving sea between
the shores of your souls.

Fill each other’s cup but drink not from one cup.
Give one another of your bread but eat not from the same loaf.

Sing and dance together and be joyous,
but let each of you be alone,
Even as the strings of a lute are alone
though they quiver with the same music.

Give your hearts, but not into each other’s keeping.
For only the hand of Life can contain your hearts.

And stand together, yet not too near together.
For the pillars of the temple stand apart,
And the oak tree and the cypress
grow not in each other’s shadow.

The Prophet, Kahlil Gibran.

20120621-132627.jpg

26 thoughts on “Occupy Blogoshpere 21

  1. Congratulations on your wedding anniversary. I’m glad to hear only the air was being punched. Makes a change from a lot of weddings. Here’s to many, many more. 🙂

    1. Thanks Pete! I hadn’t thought of anything else getting punched – but now you mention it, I do remember attending a sailor’s nuptials in the 70’s, where groom, best man and brother of the bride all sported matching black eyes! I wonder if the happy couple are still going strong? 🙂

    1. Thank you, Susan, it caught my attention when I first saw it, as it allows each person freedom to be themselves and to explore their own growth. That’s been important to Martin and I and I think it keeps things fresh! 🙂

    1. Thank you, Joss, I’ve always loved it, because it allows freedom between two people, something that often gets lost in close relationships. But I think it should apply equally to any kind of union or relationship. A very wise man indeed! 🙂

    1. Thank you, Debra – thank you for tweeting me that your comment had landed in my spam folder, so that I could rescue it. Martin and I have both had previous relationships, from which we’ve learned what’s important to bring into our marriage. Hard work, sometimes – but well worth it! 🙂

  2. Congratulations!! My two favourite images from that? You in your wedding dress at the atm, speaks of a life about to be filled with fun and quirkiness, and your husband punching the air after you were pronounced man and wife, that just shouts of love and pure delight to me!! 🙂

    1. I’m smilingnasninread your wonderful comments, mlatimerridley, it’s just great to receive such intuitive feedback! Thanks for visiting – I’ve taken a peek at your site and enjoyed reading your work, so I’ll be dropping by again! 🙂

  3. Wow. Congrats on such an awesome achievement and I am grinning like crazy that you quoted Kahlil Gibran. That is a GREAT book! 😀 It sounds like you were just “meant to be”. I’m glad you can cherish each other and realize how rich you both truly are to have something so special. Congrats again!

  4. A belated congratulations for you and your husband. I love that poem by Gibran…I first read that book as a teenager. May you have many more happy days together…with spaces in between..

Leave a Reply

