Occupy Blogosphere 25

In the run up to the Olympic Games ~ which start in London next week, the Olympic Torch has been making it’s way around Britain. Last Saturday it came to The Isle of Wight.

I’m not sporty, or zealously patriotic and am ambivalent about the nation hosting this ridiculously expensive event, in these stringent times. But when we learned that the Torch Relay was scheduled to pass the end of our road, we simply had to go out and cheer on the bearers ~ what are the chances of that happening again, in our lifetimes?

Even though it was windy and drizzling, there was a carnival atmosphere. We waited….and waited… and eventually the parade began with police motorbikes, lights flashing and sirens blaring ~ followed by a handful of sponsorship floats and a slightly bemused window cleaner, (his white van boxed in by the convoy!) Then a wave of cheers, from further down the road, announced that the main attraction was finally on it’s way.

The torch-bearer for this leg of the relay was a disabled teenager in an electric wheelchair. She held the flame aloft, excited and proud to be taking part in this ancient tradition. Her smiling face radiated pure joy, bringing a tear to my eye. Bless her!

I thought some technical glitch had wiped the video footage from my phone, so I was delighted this morning when I found it. As I relived the unexpected emotion of those fleeting seconds, I was so glad I’d made the effort to walk the few yards from my door to the kerbside. (Did I mention that I’m not very sporty?) I will always remember this unique occasion and the effect it had on me.

Apologies for the quality of this image ~ it’s a blurry still from the lost and found video. But it clearly shows the Olympic Flame, which I’m now handing on ~ to light up the Blogosphere! πŸ™‚
href=”https://wightrabbit.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/20120719-195049.jpg”>;;;20120719-195049.jpg

The Occupy Blogosphere movement was started by Amy, author of Souldipper’s Blog, to light up the Blogosphere with a shot of positive energy, each week. To read her most recent post ~ and for more information on how to join in ~ please click here:

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

28 thoughts on “Occupy Blogosphere 25”

    1. It cheered up our day, too, Susan, and we could all do with a bit of that, here in UK at the moment! The sun is rumoured to be on it’s way, though, fingers crossed! πŸ™‚

  1. I am not the sporty type either — but the Olympics are a momentous occasion for those athletes who have spent their life preparing for a “shot” at the chance to compete for “the gold”. They are proud, and I am proud for them. It can’t help but bring up emotions! Thank you for sharing!! πŸ˜€

    1. Thank you, Becca ~ I think there’s been so much hype about London 2012 (every advert on T.V. Olympic-themed!), that we’ve forgotten what it’s really about. The Torch Relay brought the original ethos back to the fore ~ it was an excellent decision to take all over the UK. πŸ™‚

  2. the best part is when the ones who are inspired
    show it by stepping outside their box….the real people ….
    as you did Jacqueline…and the Torch Bearer…and the atheletes who work so hard to get there….
    Beautiful….
    (i tried to like but it wouldn’t take it)
    Take Care…
    )0(
    ladyblue

  3. Fabulous entry – thanks for bringing the Occupy the Olympic Flame! I had arrived home from South Africa in 2009, had stayed overnight at a friend’s home in Victoria and was looking forward to getting home to my wee island – a couple of hours away. He informed me he would not be able to take me to my ferry until the Olympic Flame had passed. I sighed and trundled the block to our kerbside position. When it finally arrived, I couldn’t believe how emotional it make so many of us. It’s like tying a knot of unity that seems real. My friend asked if he could touch it. “Sorry”…said nicely, but with security well in hand!

    1. Thank you, Amy ~ as soon as i saw it, I knew it embodied the Occupy theme. I know what you mean about being held up ~ the roads to town were all closed to traffic for five hours on that day. But it was definitely worth the minor inconvenience, to witness it so close at hand. The torch came so near that I could have reached out and touched it ~ but I bet I’d have been jumped on, if I’d tried! πŸ˜‰

  4. I’m so glad you had the opportunity! I’m fascinated that several British blogging friends have reported similar sightings of the Olympic Flame and runner! It’s given me such a vicarious thrill! I was able to witness the Flame when Los Angeles hosted the Olympics, and I recall being so moved. I’ll be watching the Olympics as much as I can and thinking of you all…there’s something special about having the opportunity to host such a special event…even if you aren’t sporty! πŸ™‚ Debra

    1. It’s a once~in~a~lifetime opportunity, for sure, Debra and, as you say, so moving. What’s special about this Torch Relay is that ordinary, local people have been carrying the flame ~ people from every walk of life, age group and ability. It’s definitely a unifying experience, giving us a shot of much needed national pride. Us Brits tend to play these things down and pretend that we aren’t really bothered! πŸ™‚

  5. I think it’s fantastic that the Olympics are on our little chunk of rock. The torch did visit near us, but I couldn’t get there that day. Still it seems to have brought a lot of people out to cheer and that has to be a good thing. Looking forward to Friday πŸ™‚

    1. Ironically, I missed the opening, because I was doing something else and forgt about it! Never mind, at least the wether has cheered up now for all our Olympic guests! πŸ™‚

  6. Oh I loved this story and your blurry photo. Beautiful to know that the flame was carried through all corners of the British Isles – even The Isle of Wight.

  7. Thank you, Rosie, I must say we were surprised and delighted that it came over here. We miss so many things, because the ferry is so exensive ~ hopefully they gave this convoy a free ride! πŸ™‚

  8. I would have walked to the curb on my street too to see that…very cool! I’m sure that girl carrying the torch was happy that people came out to cheer her on…how sweet..and touching.

Leave a Reply

