Occupy Blogosphere 31

This week Souldipper has chosen ‘Time’ as her theme for Occupy Blogosphere Thursday. It’s an such an excellent subject that I’ve decided to follow her lead.

Even though Martin and I are ‘time~rich’, I can still pressurise myself into meeting self~imposed deadlines. But recently severe headaches and problems with my vision forced me to take ‘time out’ from using my computer, reading, watching television and doing any close work, like crochet. I found it odd, not being able to do anything but sit ~ in my garden when the weather was warm enough, or in my big yellow chair, looking out of my studio window at the Silver Birch opposite my house.

At first, of course, I was frustrated with this inactivity. But, as I relaxed, I began taking more notice of the world around me ~ the sights and sounds of nature, that would have otherwise passed me by. And I learned an important lesson ~ these words, by Welsh poet, W. H. Evans, say it all:

Leisure

What is this life if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.

No time to stand beneath the boughs
And stare as long as sheep or cows.

No time to see, when woods we pass,
Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.

No time to see, in broad daylight,
Streams full of stars, like skies at night.

No time to turn at Beauty’s glance,
And watch her feet, how they can dance.

No time to wait till her mouth can
Enrich that smile her eyes began.

A poor life this if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.

William Henry Evans (3rd July 1871 ~ 26th September 1940)
Source: Wikipedia.

The Occupy Blogosphere movement was started by Amy, author of Souldipper’s Blog, to light up the Blogosphere with a shot of positive energy, each week. To read her most recent post ~ and for more information on how to join in ~ please click here: http:souldipper.wordpress.com

17 thoughts on “Occupy Blogosphere 31

    1. Oh, Amy, trust me ~ you get used to doing nothing, real quick! In fact I doubt I’ll ever return to my previous level of activity, now that I’ve experienced this shift! I’m so glad you like the post! πŸ™‚

  1. I like how you settled into your forced inactivity through acceptance and noticing what was going on around you. Those small things that otherwise would not have been seen, suddenly seem so interesting don’t they. Thanks, Jacqueline!

    Sure hope your severe headaches and eyestrain ease up soon. Hugs…

    1. I hadn’t thought about acceptance (I had no choice) ~ so thank you for reminding me Gayle. The whole experience has literally changed my perspective and I’m looking forward to writing from that new angle, from now on! πŸ™‚

  2. Inspiring words with formidable points. We forget how to enjoy our lives even when we have the time to. Unfortunately, patterns of – we must be doing something in order to be viable humans – are hard to break.
    Great post for Occupy Blogosphere
    namaste ….
    Izzy

    1. I’ve been standing and staring so much, recently, that I thought I’d already answered this thought~provoking comment, Izzy! You are right, we have no need for external validation or to work ‘hard’ to be considered ‘real’. Been there, done that! Now I’m working on accepting my and working with the true person that I am. Thank you, for helping me to realise that! πŸ™‚

  3. I try to appreciate the time I spend sitting waiting for an appointment…it might be my only moment of inactivity in a day or even a week! I won’t let time be my enemy, though. I still have my moments of magical thinking when I’m just sure I’m going to sprout additional time from some magic beans or something! πŸ™‚

    1. If you could grow those magic beans, you’d make a fortune, Debra! I plan on nurturing my calm centre, now I’ve tapped into it, so I’ve just had to decide which things to drop. I appreciate the waiting times too ~ and I’m consciously building them in to every day! πŸ™‚

  4. What an excellent poem! And it sounds like you have actually gained something from it that you don’t intend to lose. πŸ™‚ It’s interesting how much activity is going on around us when we stop for a moment (or longer) and just “be”. Just “be”. The human spirit needs that respite, whether we know it or not, whether we want it or not. I do hope that your headaches and vision problems have resolved themselves and that you’re feeling better now. I would miss your bright writings and Martin’s wonderful art very much!

    1. Hi, Corina, you’re right about the human spirit needing rest from time to time. It seems I had to be grounded by minor inconvenience to make me see the truth! Now I’m taking things at my own pace, stopping awhile to ‘smell the roses’ every day! I am feeling much better now and plan to re~open the Virtual Open Studio soon. Thank you so much for your lovely comments ~ Martin said last night that it gives him a great feeling when he reads them! πŸ™‚

Leave a comment