Occupy Blogospherere 33

The Equinox brought squally weather to the Isle of Wight this week ~ high winds, heavy downpours, thunder and dark skies. But yesterday, as the storm clouds moved away, two very special people came to visit, bringing the Autumn sunshine with them.

My three and a half year old grandsons, Ruan and Myles (known to everyone but Daddy and Grandad as ‘Mylo’) are twins, born two minutes apart:

Non~identical, they look completely different: Little Mylo’s hair is blond, while Ruan, who is taller, sports glorious ginger curls. But they have that twin connection and seem to work in sync.

From early on they’ve shared a private language ~ babbling away and giggling when alone, then falling silent as soon as anyone else appeared. Later, chatty Ruan spoke for both of them, entertaining the adults with his genius, while Mylo, who walked first, loved to figure things out ~ clicking train tracks together, building teetering towers and raiding the snack store in the kitchen cupboard. Working together, with Mylo giving his brother directions in ‘twin speak’, they managed to unlock the child~proof gate at nursery!

When they were fourteen months old, my daughter returned to work part time. I looked after them on Wednesday mornings, taking them to baby signing classes for a while. It made life so much easier, that they could communicate their needs: food, drink, more, change nappy, milk and bed. They also played practical jokes in sign language ~ Mylo famously reported, complete with astonished expression, that an elephant was walking down the street outside their house! How they both laughed when Mummy came to look!


Here they are, last year, on Grandad’s motorbike.

We had such fun when they came yesterday: drawing and colouring, blowing bubbles, hiding in the secret courtyard, scooting up the drive. And, before they left to catch the ferry back to the mainland, they planted some bulbs in my newly~fenced garden, ready for next spring.

20120927-103003.jpg

20120927-103059.jpg

These gorgeous little beings bring happiness and light into my universe and long may that continue! Every day I bless them both ~ and their hardworking Mum! πŸ™‚

20120927-120955.jpg

The Occupy Blogosphere movement was started by Amy, author of Souldipper’s Blog, to light up the Blogosphere with a shot of positive energy, each week. To read her most recent post ~ and for more information on how to join in, please click here: http:souldipper.wordpress.com

26 thoughts on “Occupy Blogospherere 33

    1. Thank you, Susan! I like to encourage them to take notice of the wonders of nature as they are currently living in a first floor flat. I think the next lesson might be weeding. LOL πŸ™‚

  1. I Love it!, what beautiful souls these two spirits possess !
    I knew if I dropped by I would have a laugh of just feel good energy,
    what a wonderful post today Jacqueline …love your husbands harley!
    have a Great day!
    Take Care…
    )0(
    ladyblue

    1. Thank you, ladyblue! I felt their child~like spirits lift my own energy, which has been flagging recently. The bike is fun ~ they have two model ones, just like Grandad’s! I’ve been a little quiet lately, but am getting back into the swing! πŸ™‚

      1. I have missed your posts…I have been slow these days too, started a new job, and slowly getting my balance back…these just looked like fun photos..I enjoy my grandkids with their free spirits these days….
        I am glad you’re back…this was such a great post…
        Take Care…!
        )0(

      2. I think that this quietness is affecting many of us ~ I’ve heard many of my friends share the same experience, recently. It’s as though we’ve learned the lessons, (maybe the hard way,) have the knowledge and now we have to live it. It takes a beat to re~adjust, to think what really makes our spirits sing and to cut out the cr*p. As grandmothers we have it all ~ experience, wisdom and patience. I feel a deep connection with my grandchildren and I trust they’ll absorb my ethos more readily than their parents did! But my adult kids are observing how I interact with theirs and gradually shaping their own perspectives to match. It’s so rewarding! Thank you maryrose! πŸ™‚

  2. Aren’t they just beautiful children! I know that my two granddaughters have created more happiness in our family, and I often think of how blessed we are. I hear that same expression in your voice and it’s a delight! Debra

    1. Thank you, Debra! Being a grandmother is definitely my true purpose, right now. I have time and energy, (which I did not always possess as a parent,) to appreciate these perfect little beings, tapping in to what thrills and excites them. Together we are creating happy memories and an eternal bond! πŸ™‚

  3. What gloriously beautiful little beings they are. The photo of them as infants is oh! my! goodness! wonderful! Sounds like Grandma gives them very fun and special times when they come to play. Time that will stay with them all their lives. A lovely post! Love the elephant story!

    1. Thank you, Sherry, that early photo caught them having a power nap, after a bath! I have a whole Pinterest Board full of ‘things to make my grandchildren happy,’ and love to think up ways to entertain and educate them at the same time. Mylo is definitely the joker of the family, sometimes making poor Ruan the innocent fall guy! πŸ™‚

  4. You certainly have “bragging rights” with two such gorgeous young boys. The whole twin thing is such an interesting relationship which twins KNOW only twins understand. Imagine them having the audacity to fool their mother at such a young age! πŸ˜€ Great uplifting post, Jacqueline. Your happiness comes right off the screen.

    1. Thank you, Amy! I’m not sure what is happening with my new version of WP for iPad ~ I thought that I had already answered you, but can’t find my comment now. The twins are fascinating to observe ~ even when they were tiny little beings, they had a telepathic awareness of each other. And they definitely worked together to keep Mummy on her toes, right from the start! I find being with them, and Grace, such a wonderful experience, full of learning for me as well as them! πŸ™‚

  5. You know these two little souls Do bring light into our World Jacqueline, Being a fairly new grandparent myself to a near 2 yr old little girl, I cannot begin to tell you the Light they bring..
    And like you said They bring Happiness and Light into the Universe.. there is something so very different about the little souls being born today… They are strong little souls who seem to know a great deal..
    I feel their lights will be needed to light many more in the days to come as they grow..
    my Granddaughter too has ginger very curly hair..
    They certainly bring so much joy into our lives..
    Thank you for sharing them .. Two beautiful boys… Very precious indeed
    Love and Light
    Sue x

    1. Thank you, Sue, they are beautiful little beings! I do agree that children are different, more aware, these days. I’ve heard them say that they are very happy, or a little bit sad and be able to explain why. More than a year ago, when they were just two and a half, Ruan said to his Mum, ‘you look tired, Rachael.’ She did! I also think the red~hair gene is definitely getting stronger. We love it! I bet your granddaughter is gorgeous too! πŸ™‚

      1. Yes she is, as any grandmother is proud LOL.. But Ive seen more Redheds about in small children this last year than ever before.. I think they will definitely be needed in the future of our world..
        and yes they come out with such gems…
        The other day Id been telling my Granddaughter to be careful as I helped her over a step… She watched me go down a step a few days later and shouted ‘ Be Careful mama, a big step! ” You have to laugh… and yes we LOVE it too.. xxxxxxxxx πŸ™‚

  6. Beautiful beautiful little boys and what a delight they are to you and their granddad. My grandsons are growing into sturdy well adjusted young men and I thank the universe each day that they are part of my life. Thanks for sharing Jacqueline.

    1. Thank you, Judith, they definitely have brought so much love and laughter into our lives! When I read about your grandsons and see the photos of such handsome, strapping lads, I know that there are many more good times ahead for us too! πŸ™‚

  7. Oh, my goodness…aren’t they the cutest little boys…just darling. And how smart they are…I guess that saying is right…two heads are better than one! I loved your grandsons’ practical joke in sign language…brilliant! One of my nephews is studying American sign language in college and will work at being an interpreter when completed. He taught his brother’s son some sign language when he was tiny…it did come in handy.

    Thank you for the good wishes for my relationship with my new granddaugter, Jacqueline, I can’t wait to spend time with her and share our Light with one another.

    Gayle ~

    1. Thank you, Gayle, they are a formidable combined force and getting up to more tricks every day, usually at Mylo’s instigation! We found baby signing so useful and rewarding ~ it’s a combination of British Sign Language and Makaton, with some tweaking to make it easier for tiny hands. And it helped, rather than hindered their speech and comprehension and helps so much with that all important bonding! πŸ™‚

  8. What a happy post Jacqueline πŸ™‚ Your grandchildren are the cutest looking little guys. Love the photo of them on grandad’s bike.

    I can’t wait to be a granny. My daughter just got married so hopefully I won’t have to wait much longer.

    I’ve heard that kids these days are being taught sign language. Does it delay their talking? I love the way they tricked their Mum!

    1. Thank you, Rosie, grandchildren are very entertaining ~ as you will no doubt find out! We found that learning sign language actually encouraged them to talk ~ the adult never makes a sign without saying the word at the same time. It gives them confidence that their carers understand their needs ~ if you signed that you’d get food or a drink in a minute, they would wait patiently, knowing it was on it’s way. Mylo didn’t bother talking when Ruan was there and my daughter was beginning to wonder if he required speech therapy. Then, one day at nursery they were put in different groups and he came home chatting away, proving he could speak all along! He is definitely the little joker of the family, encouraging Ruan to join in his pranks! Bless them! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

