Introducing Nurturing Thursdays

On her blog On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea’, artist, poet and animal communicator Becca Givens has started ‘Nurturing Thursdays’. This what she has posted today:

20121227-072811.jpg

What is Nurturing Thursday, you ask?

In this amazingly competitive society of ours, how many of us truly feel good about ourselves? How often do we extend to ourselves … the same courtesies, considerations, nurturing, forgiveness and understanding we would a loved one, a friend, or even a stranger?

Our culture tells us we need to be special and above average to feel good about ourselves. Yet, it is not possible for all of us to be above average at the same time. Don’t we usually know of someone richer, more attractive, “more together” or successful than we are? Even if we discount the material aspects and consider the more spiritual facet, don’t we know of those who seem more at peace, more aware or living in the moment. Even when we do manage to feel a strong sense of self-esteem or self-confidence, we are not able to consistently hold on to it. For most, our sense of self-worth bounces around like a ping-pong ball, rising and falling strongly tied with our latest success or failure.

In an effort to eliminate labeling ourselves as “good” or “bad”, and clearly accept ourselves with an open heart … to treat ourselves with the same kindness, caring, and compassion we would show to a good friend … I would like to incorporate more self-compassion and self-kindess in my life.

To “give this planet a much needed shot of fun, support and positive energy” … I am dubbing Thursdays as Nurturing Thursday … a spin-off of Occupy Blogosphere started by Amy of SoulDipper.

If any of my readers are interested in joining the nurturing, I applaud and welcome you to do so … the more the merrier!!’

I agree with Becca and I’ll be following her idea of placing prettily coloured, uplifting notes in jar, where I can see them ~ rather than hiding my gratitude list in a notebook or journal. I wonder what amazing memories they’ll prompt, when I tip them all out, this time next year. And, if I get a little blue in the meantime, randomly picking one or two out to read will get me smiling again! 🙂

If you are interested in joining ‘Nurturing Thursdays’ with Becca or contributing to ‘Occupy Blogosphere’ with Amy, here are the links to their excellent blogs:

On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea

Soul Dipper

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

12 thoughts on “Introducing Nurturing Thursdays”

    1. Thanks, Jacqueline ~ it has been doing the rounds on FB and on other blogs. Becca has started it as a spin~off from ‘Occupy Blogoshere’, which seems to be a bit sketchy at the moment. 🙂

  1. I will indeed follow along to make a similar jar! I might like to share this with my granddaughters, too. What a fabulous idea. I’ll check out the other two blogs, too. I like the idea of “Nurturing Thursdays.” I’ll have to see what following along entails, but I do know that your thoughts about extending to ourselves the same level of consideration we often do to others is particularly spot on! I hope the New Year is full of many wonderful new adventures…even small, quiet ones! 🙂

    1. Thank you, Debra, being wakefully grateful has been one of my spiritual tools for over 20 years now and has helped me through some tough times. An Internet outage prevented me from contributing to Nurturing Thursdays last week ~ so I published my intended post on Saturday instead. I don’t think there are any rules about joining in ~ just publish a positive post with a link to Becca’s site. Looking forward to an excellent 2013 for us all! 🙂

  2. Isn’t this just a great idea? I’ve seen it so many places already, and so far I’ve enjoyed my version of it. It makes me look at my day in a whole different light. I find I’m looking for the ‘thing’ that made me happiest and you know what? there’s several to choose from! It’s a great eye-opener. Happy New Year! Wishing you the best.

    1. Happy New Year to you, too, Kathy, I trust it will be filled with love, light and happiness. It is a great idea to focus us on the +ve. I, too have so many things to be thankful for ~ big and small ~ every single day. Ain’t that just great! 🙂

  3. What a neat idea! I will have to find a pretty jar/vase to do this! I know, especially in the long days of winter before Spring arrives that these would be wonderful pick-me-ups. 🙂 I like the idea of nurturing Thursdays, too. You are so right that we don’t take enough time to nurture ourselves and be kind to ourselves (especially true of those who are always “doing for others”). Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

