Energy Matters

20130111-202848.jpg

When I was nursing in the Royal Navy, male patients complaining of pain were often told by the medics on the ward:

‘It’s mind over matter…We don’t mind and you don’t matter!’

Sounds harsh? Maybe ~ but this was the early 70’s and that’s the way things rolled, particularly in that male dominated environment. But is this example of Armed Forces humour based on fact?

Recently I came across this quote by Albert Einstein:

β€œConcerning matter, we have been all wrong. What we have called matter is energy, whose vibration has been so lowered as to be perceptible to the senses. There is no matter.”

…which led me to think that if I don’t give something energy, then it doesn’t matter. And the flipside of this is that:

‘what you focus on grows.’

It gives me such a buzz that my so~called ‘New Age’ beliefs have scientific backup! Whacky Jacqui? I don’t think so! πŸ˜‰

In the past ~ particularly leading up to the 2012 Winter Solstice ~ I spent many a long hour pondering what my ‘purpose’ is and how I can best spend what’s left of my allotted span on this planet. Contemplation over, it’s time to act! Listening to my heart, I’ve decided to keep things simple and focus on nurturing my creative impulses this year ~ giving priority to those pastimes that please me, rather than trying to fit them in around my chores. After all, I am a pensioner, you know. If not now……… when?

After a prolonged dry spell, I’m gradually feeling motivated to write once more, starting with my blogs. But my mojo seems a little rusty (must be all this rain) so please bear with me, while I get back up to speed. It’s taken me four days to compose this but I’ve hung in there, deleting; cutting and pasting; uploading photos, researching quotes and engaging in displacement activity.

Cup of tea, anyone? No, don’t move ~ I’ll make it………

πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “Energy Matters

  1. What a great photo of you. I too have had trouble writing. Can we blame it on the Mayan calender …?

    I love this new theme. So fun to watch the fishing line drop on the left.

    1. LOL, Rosie, why not! But there is a grain of truth in your comment ~ the whole hype about the world ending caused me to think and put my house in order ~ a on~going project that’s taking time and energy. So I haven’t had much headspace for inspiration to settle. I’m playing around with my themes at the moment ~ so glad you like this one! πŸ™‚

      1. Not difficult at all, Rosie, just choose the one you’d like to use and apply it. WordPress does the rest ~ just like magic! I have to create a blogroll though, which I do find tricky. Looking forward to seeing how you get on ~ good luck! πŸ™‚

      2. I don’t have the courage to try it. I’m too nervous that everything’s going will be lost. Really you just press change and it transfers all your previous posts over?

  2. Well, it’s definitely worked for me, on this site and my other one ~ Tao of Scrumble. You can just preview it and there’s an option which says ‘I’ve changed my mind’ before you apply the new theme permanently ~ not sure if that shows older posts or just the current one. You could write a post about your worries ~ maybe someone with more technical knowledge might have some useful comments to make? It is a worry that all our hard work might disappear into the ether!

  3. What a fun picture of you! I bet your patients loved seeing you come to tend them – you just look so “sun-shiney”! Yes, that did seem like a harsh thing to say, but maybe the guys needed that kind of “tough love” attitude to get better? Your quote reminded me of something I saw a long time ago that said “Energy grows where attention goes” and it is SO true! I’m glad to see that you are blogging/writing again and hope that you continue to be inspired by the muses. πŸ™‚

  4. Sharp pic of you! You are quite good at your craft of writing and do hope you will continue to do so. I know this is an old post I am commenting on but just found this site so thought I’d take a look around.

    1. It was taken many moons ago, Renee, I’m a bit more blurred around the edges these days! Thank you so much for your kind words ~ they encourage me to keep writing. I’m just easing myself back into blogging more regularly ~ I’d forgotten how much I enjoy it. πŸ™‚

      1. Oh! How I know of rough around the edges. I am just now, after a year plus of health issues, feeling a bit more myself. I, too, am getting back to writing on my site again. Do, keep writing! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

