Nurturing Thursday 1

The Artist and I were feeling so poorly in the run up to last Christmas, that we made a pact not to buy each other gifts. This may seem unromantic, but it was a huge relief for both of us not to have to struggle round the busy shops, feeling rough. I wouldn’t dream of making a major purchase on his behalf anyway ~ he always carries out thorough research before deciding what to buy. And I couldn’t think of anything to ask for. I couldn’t think of anything, full stop.

So we’ve been having fun this week, treating ourselves to a selection of small items that took our fancy. Martin bought a pre~loved steering wheel for his video console and exchanged some old games for a couple of new ones. He also ordered an updated copy of a book about a Free French Pilot in World War II, which he found on his grandfather’s bookshelf, when he was five or six. It fascinated him back then, so he’s looking forward to finding out if it’s the same as he remembers. See what I mean about me not choosing anything for him?

I spent a happy morning wandering round the shops, returning with this exciting haul:

20130117-214154.jpg
Pink thermal socks; freesia bulbs (my mother’s favourite flowers.) A furry hat, some ‘sentimental’ scent, nail varnish, balls of yarn and the biggest knitting needles I could find (20mm).

I also bought some purple pens, (in the sale ~ as was my hat and perfume) and two craft magazines with free gifts. Who can resist a bargain!

So, we’ve been nurturing ourselves lately ~ not stressing about Christmas when we were ill but waiting until we’d recovered enough to enjoy choosing our own presents. Unconventional, maybe, but it made sense and saved us money. Win~win!

Whether we are well or not (and I trust we will be), this will definitely be one of our new Christmas Traditions! 🙂

Nurturing Thursday is the idea of Becca Givens, author of ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea’
To read more about this, or to join in, please click here.

10 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 1

    1. It took the stress right out of thinking what to buy each other, Joss. I’ve nearly finished my first project on the knitting needles ~ see Nurturing Thursday 2 for an update. 🙂

    1. I know, Rosie it has been a tense time of year for me in the past, so it was great to spoil ourselves, rather than each other! I’ve posted a pic of my first project in this week’s ‘Nurturing Thursday’ contribution 🙂

Leave a Reply

