Nurturing Thursday 2

Snow rarely falls here on the Isle of Wight ~ but when it does everything comes to a halt. Roads and country lanes are blocked, schools and businesses close and all but essential journeys are postponed.

Last Friday morning we awoke to a world of icing~sugar white, excited that we’d gained an unexpected day off work. Luckily I’d taken heed of the severe weather warnings, stocking up on essential supplies the previous day ~ so we were able to watch children having snowball fights from the safety of the house.

While The Artist read his library book and played some video games, I set to work with the yarn and huge knitting needles that I bought last week. This is what I decided to make:

20130124-192737.jpg

A multi~coloured throw to snuggle under!

At first I found manipulating the oversized pins and three strands of yarn quite tricky, but ~ as you can see ~ I persevered. Except for casting off and weaving in loose ends, it’s done. And now I’ve got the hang of it, I’ll start another one! πŸ™‚

Nurturing Thursday is the idea of Becca Givens, author of ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea’
To read more about this, or to join in, please click here.

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

9 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 2”

  1. Great idea considering the weather we’re having. A least it should warm up in the next day or so. We had about 6″ of snow overnight and it’s already thawing. Happy knitting!

  2. How beautiful! Jacqueline, I am so impressed with your skill! I could never make something like that in a million years, having tried to crochet once and made a complete, knotty mess lol. I don’t think I have the patience to make such a lovely throw, but I love the colors you put into it! So cheery! And bound to keep you warm on cold, snowy days!

  3. \We rarely get snow here in Kathmandu either but one morning last week I opened the curtains and all the hills where I live had turned white. It looked fantastic and luckily the snow line wasn’t quite down to our level. I’m new here Jacquie. My UK home is in Bournemouth so although I’ve never been to the Isle of Wight, I see it almost every day from a distance.when I’m in the UK

    1. Thank you for visiting and commenting on my blog Dai ~ although I tend to write more regularly on http://taoofscrumble.com due to techie probs with Wightrabbit. I have always wanted to visit Nepal, although the Isle of Wight is lovely too ~ I consider it my spiritual home. It must have been quite strange to see snow out of your windows, if you aren’t used to it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

