Nurturing Thursday 5

On her blog On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea, poet and artist Becca Givens often writes about her fur~family. She believes that there’s a portal in her yard, through which animals in need come to her, knowing that they’ll find a loving home for as long as they wish to remain. I’m beginning to think that we have one too.

In addition to The Cat Who Isn’t Our Cat, we now have a Dog Who’s Not Our Dog!

Six weeks ago my darling daughter suffered a shocking bereavement and is now adjusting to raising my twin grandsons without their beloved Daddy. Of course we’re on hand, to help with whatever we can and I’m drawing on my own experience of losing my father, when I was little older than the boys, (they’ll be four in April.) But much as I wish I could erase their pain, I know that I can’t ~ I’m only able ease it, wherever possible.

So The Artist (a committed cat~person) and I are fostering their seven year old fox~terrier cross, until Rachael is in a better position to have the family pet back. Indie’s only been with us six days and it’s working out even better than I expected, (and I’m an eternal optimist!)

Summer, the stray cat, wasn’t too impressed initially ~ scratching my arm deeply, as she struggled to flee from the inquisitive little canine. So we’ve given her the run of upstairs, feeding her in the studio and letting her in and out via the front door. Indie remains downstairs, is allowed into the kitchen garden and Secret Courtyard and gets walked around the neighbourhood twice a day. We’ve met a couple of other dog~owners, who’ve given me the heads~up on more open spaces and ~ when we’re confident she’ll come back to us ~ we can allow her off the lead in these.

Yesterday morning Martin suggested we drive to one of the Island’s beaches, where she could trot along the shore in safety. The tide was high, (must check the tables in future) so we romped with her in an empty field alongside the cliff path instead.

20130228-104028.jpg

20130228-104056.jpg

Despite the fact that I feed her and have the enviable role of poop~scooper, she regards the Artist as leader~of~the~pack and is already devoted to him. Typical! It’s exactly the same with the cat, who miaows at me plaintively until I fill her bowl then ~ when she’s replete ~ sits on his lap, purring loudly!

But, as Becca will readily confirm, this is not a one~way exchange. As we nurture this unlikely duo they reward us with uncomplicated affection, complete trust and tons of fun. And I’m certain that very soon they’ll make friends and happily share the same spaces. (Did I mention that I’m an optimist? ;))

As the step~daughter of a veterinary surgeon and the mother of two children, I’ve looked after many different animals in my time. And, although I appreciate those experiences, I’d never have chosen to have more. Then Summer turned up and now Indie is in need of temporary accommodation. But they’re not our pets, we don’t own them ~ we’re just borrowing them for a while. πŸ™‚

Nurturing Thursday is the idea of Becca Givens, author of ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about this, or to join in, please click here.

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

11 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 5”

  1. Your optimism will cause a ripple effect which will be a great comfort and support to your loved ones Jacqueline. It must be so heartbreaking for you and I admire your realistic and practical approach. Thinking of you.xx

    1. Thank you, Susan, your kind thoughts are very comforting! Yes, it has been difficult for quite a while now, heartbreaking too, as you say. But I do feel that we are all moving on now and that I’ve done the right thing by fostering Indie, so that Rachael and the boys won’t have to lose their beloved family pet, bless them!

  2. Ahh, so you’ve been specially selected as well. ;D I KNOW your companions appreciate the support, optimism, space and time you share with them … especially in light of the dire circumstances. Enjoy the lessons each of you will exchange during this respite with you. Lifting all of you up in prayer during the difficult transition time. xoxo

    (Thank you for the link to Nurturing Thursday)

    1. Thank you so much, Becca, I felt a shiver all over when I read your words about being ‘chosen’ ~ I had thought that I was the one doing the choosing! But you’re right, there’s much to be learned from this unexpected experience, so much love to receive from these intuitive little beings. Many thanks for your prayers, too, and for reminding me that this is another transition, not just an ending.

    1. Thank you, Nancy ~ long ago we decided that pets were too much of a tie, as we liked to be free to travel. But now we’ve settled down and they’ve turned up adding so much to our lives that we’re thoroughly enjoying the experience πŸ™‚

  3. I’m like Martin (a committed cat-person – “cats rule, dogs drool” and all that) but I think it’s wonderful that you opened your home and hearts to Indie! πŸ™‚ You know, you’re right – we never truly “own” them – they own US. I hope that things settle down and become easier for you and your family very soon. *hugs* We can all nurture our compassion when we choose to help those in need.

    1. Thank you, Corina, your words are very wise. Indie is so well trained that she’s slotted in seamlessly but the wider implications of us fostering her are major. And it’s already proving to be exactly the right thing to have offered. Whew! πŸ˜‰

    1. I’ve fixed it clearly in my mind that I’m just fostering Indie, until my daughter is back on her feet. Since I’ve taken this worry away she’s moved on in leaps and bounds, so I know it was the right thing to do. That’s not to say I won’t shed a tear when my little friend goes home! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

