Nurturing Thursday 10

Our Easter Break is coming to an end. The Artist and I return to work tomorrow afternoon, to make sure the school is clean and tidy when the new term starts on Monday.

The weather over the past few weeks has not been Spring~like. We’ve suffered heavy rainfall, gale force winds and even the odd flurry of snow. Actual temperatures have remained in single figures, with the ‘real feel’ being way too cold for comfort. So, apart from a daily dog~walk, I’ve spent most of my time indoors, crocheting squares and knitting strips, which I’m making into throws.

20130411-162235.jpg

For a while now I’ve been using my late mother’s hooks and needles. Working with them reminded me how talented she was ~ although her style was more traditional than mine, she excelled at everything she turned her hand to.

On Monday, unable to find two matching English size 3 knitting pins, I was forced to settle for an odd ‘pair’, one much longer than the other. Disaster! The short one is slightly bent with age. The other kept getting caught ~ either up my sleeve or against the armchair. It played havoc with my tension, (in every sense of the word) and drove me crazy.

Martin believes it makes life easier to have the right tools for the job and he’s right. So instead of struggling with hand~me~down equipment, I decided to start a collection of my own. Chosen specifically to suit me:

20130411-152916.jpg

Even though I’ve loved using Mum’s equipment, it no longer serves my purpose. It’s time to stash it in the attic and move on. She would heartily approve.
‘Treat yourself, Jacqueline,’ she would say, ‘because you’re worth it.’
🙂

Nurturing Thursday is the idea of Becca Givens, author of ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about this, or to join in, please click here.

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

15 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 10”

  1. I too love making knitted squares and we’ve got a huge patchwork blanket that we’re using a lot at the moment, flipping weather…. Glad you’ve decided to get new tools, my hubby says that as well. Men are logical aren’t they?

    1. They are, Susan ~ sometimes too much so! I’m trying to finish all the projects that I’ve started, so that I can concentrate on free form work, which requires a bit more thought! 🙂

  2. I crochet squares… ( for some reason I have forgotten how to knit)
    and am working on a purse because I can never find one I like..
    and i may not like this one either,
    I love rummaging through tools of the arts….
    and yes love getting new ones…I am glad you treated yourself….
    now you will set memories into them as your mother did to hers….
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    ladyblue

    1. I hadn’t knitted for ages, either, ladyblue, until I dug out my mother’s needles and had a go. It soon came back ~ but I’m not as precise as she was. You make me laugh when you say you don’t like the bag you’re crocheting ~ but then again it might turn out great and you’ll love it! You’re spot on about creating my own memories ~ I’ve been receiving several messages this week about letting the past go and building a happy future and this is all part of that process. Thanks for dropping by with your encouragement ~ I really do appreciate it right now! 🙂

  3. You are definitely worth it! And M is right, the right tool for the job is worth spending the extra money to make the job as easy as it can be. 🙂 Sounds like you’re more than ready for Spring temperatures, but it’s great that you have something to keep you busy when you have to be inside. Hope it’s been a good, relaxing break for both of you! Don’t fret, the warm sunshine will be shining on you before you know it!

    1. I do tend to make do with what I have, rather than purchasing new stuff, which is good ~ but I can take that too far! It has been a long, hard winter for our family and we could use warmth and sunshine to lift us ~ so thank you, Corina, for sending some our way! 🙂

  4. I think you sound a lot like me when it comes to using things that were family hand-me-downs. I love my grandmother’s knitting needles, and items that once belonged to my loved ones of previous generations still have a place in my kitchen or on my shelves, even though at times they really aren’t efficient. I like your resolve to do something very nice for yourself. Blessings on your return to work!

    1. I have a pile of heirlooms in my attic, Debra, some from my great~grandmother, whom I never knew. It connects me to a line of strong women who went before me, which is inspiring. But the time has come for me to create heirlooms and great memories for my own children and grandchildren to remember and to (hopefully) inspire them in the future! 🙂

  5. Bravo for you!!! 😀
    I am teaching myself to knit — after restarting a scarf at least a dozen times — I decided to just “knit” this one, and then “purl” one — which will eventually lead me to knitting and purling in the same project. LOL

    Thank you for sharing — xoxo

    1. That’s a great idea, Becca ~ just take it one step at a time and you will get there. Every project I embark on brings learning and knowledge ~ especially the ‘failures’! 😉

  6. I’m crocheting a blankie for my daughter who is having her first baby in summer. Its the first thing I’ve done for years and very bright and hippy. I’d forgotten how much I like simple crochet and have also bought new hooks!

  7. What a beautiful thing to do, Gilly, I’ve done that, too! I love the idea of wrapping my grandchildren in the positive energy and love that I weave into every shawl or blanket. They love the textures and the bright colours and one grandson in particular likes to poke his toes and fingers through the holes! Looking forward to seeing pics of the new arrival swaddled in grandma’s hippy blankie! 🙂

  8. “Treat yourself because you’re worth it.” – that’s the best advice anyone can give. We certainly must take care of ourselves and indulge sometimes…it is surely what we do for others.

    1. So true, Suzi, we womenfolk tend to spoil others and neglect ourselves. I’m making conscious efforts to treat myself ~ starting with small things and working up! 😉

Leave a Reply

