Nurturing Thursday 12

Sometimes I nurture myself with a treat ~ luxuriating in a relaxing bath, (with Epsom salts and lavender oil.) Or taking time~out to read just for fun, not as research or in a quest for self~improvement.

On other occasions I nurture body and mind by taking foster~dog Indie for a walk through the nearby forest. And I greet each day with meditation, before brewing my morning coffee.

But there are times, when I have to do something I really don’t wish to. Like going to the dentist. That’s how I’ve been nurturing myself today ~ attending a scheduled check~up. Since I’ve had a somewhat chequered (and painful) dental history, this is a breakthrough for me.

My hygienist, sweet lady, complimented me on my lovely clean teeth and the dentist is ‘very happy’ with the healthy condition of my gums. I left the surgery feeling like I imagine my grandchildren do, when I tell them I’m proud of their baby achievements.

It was s glorious day and ~ even though I’d rather have spent time in the garden than driving across the Island ~ I didn’t cancel. And The Artist wasn’t able to come with, so I conquered my nerves and went on my own.

A baby achievement, for sure.

But I’m proud of myself.

And that’s not only liberating, it’s nurturing! πŸ™‚

Nurturing Thursday is the idea of Becca Givens, author of ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about this, or to join in, please click here.

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

21 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 12”

  1. I don’t know anyone who enjoys going to the dentist, so well done you! I like the sound of meditating every morning, it’s something I’ve never tried but would like to experience – even if only once.

    1. Thank you Jade! Meditation can take as little as 15 minutes, though it’s sometimes difficult to still the chattering mind, so I might focus a little longer when I reach the Alpha state. Even if that doesn’t come easily I benefit from the ritual and the practice ~ if I don’t fit it in, I always regret it. There are plenty of guided meditations on the Internet and You Tube but I’m a great fan of Deepak Chopra’s free 21 day challenges, which I discovered through Facebook! πŸ™‚

  2. I did some unusual “nurturing” today too…nurturing of our home, myself and my husband….by making lots phone calls to schedule taking care of lots of household problems, medical appointments, etc….when those are done, it will feel soooooo good…. nurturing indeed….and I then crawled into bed for an absolutely delicious nap! Happy Nurturing Thursday to you!…What accomplishments you had! πŸ™‚

    1. I’m getting to grips with paperwork here, too ~ it certainly is nurturing to feel more in control. But, like you, my energy is limited and I’m learning to take regular breaks, rather than pushing on when tired. Thanks for dropping by πŸ™‚

  3. I’m giving you a “high five” for keeping the appointment! I’ve been in the throes of some unpleasant dentistry lately, and I cringe when I even think of the next steps, but we both would like to keep our teeth, right? LOL! The baths, meditations and lovely way you take care of yourself sounds so healthy and all about being kind to yourself. I’m sure good dental hygiene does need to fit in there somewhere! πŸ™‚ D

    1. Martin and I have been manipulated by unscrupulous dentists in the past, Debra, and have both had unnecessary, protracted and expensive work forced on us. Teeth are so important ~ not just for eating but when we speak and smile, too! The baths are working well, particularly now I’ve sourced large quantities of Epsom salts through the Internet ~ chemist stores only sell 200g tubs and I could use that in two goes! πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Susan! I love reading your posts but, with all that’s going on in my life right now I don’t always get the chance to comment or join in with your monthly giggle blog. Time seems to be flying by! πŸ™‚

      1. Thank you, Susan, it’s great to know you understand πŸ™‚ I’m gradually ‘getting there’, after the strangest winter of my life ~ and I’ve had a few of those in my time! Thankfully my daughter seems to be piecing her shattered life together and moving on with her two boys, which helps me greatly! πŸ™‚

  4. I always take the Bach flower “Rescue Remedy” when I go to the dentist. It helps calm me.
    I like soaking in an epson salts bath but never thought of adding lavender to it. Thanks for the tip I’m going to try it next time.
    apologies that I havent’ been round for a while. Its so hard to keep up with all the bloggers I enjoy…

    1. Dentists rank somewhere up there with traffic wardens and estate agents, don’t they Pete? Although I’m sure their mothers are very proud of them! πŸ˜‰

  5. I am proud of you too!! Big kudos for not canceling. As far as it being a ‘baby achievement’, I disagree. I think that’s a huge accomplishment! Besides, “The journey of a thousand miles…” and all that. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Corina ~ I am focusing on putting one foot in front of the other and it does get easier, day by day. Life is so fragile and precious that I feel we must make the most of every moment and rejoice in small achievements to encourage us to carry on. πŸ™‚

  6. I went to the dentist this week after the usual call to put it off 2 weeks. I appologized to my little daughter for being grouchy that morning ..She couldn’t believe I didn’t love going to the dentist like she does…toys and good experiences at her dentist. She offered her preschool encouragement. I have a hard time feeling vulnerable places like the dentist but I am able to nurture myself inside now.

Leave a Reply

