Nurturing Thursday 14

Each morning for the past ten days I’ve been following a guided healing meditation, emailed to me by The Barefoot Doctor (Stephen Russell.)

I’ve been following ‘the Doc’ for nearly twenty years now, since I first discovered his web address (and quirky description of the contents) on the labels of a bath product line he’d developed, (bearing names like ‘Chi/Qi Orgasmic Shower Mousse’ and ‘Heavenly Massage Gel’. Sadly I the range is no longer available.)

Stephen teaches what he calls ‘Wayward Taoism’ and has written several books about how to survive the stress of modern living by embracing these ancient Oriental methods of enlightenment and practicing the simple exercises he’s devised based on T’ai Chi and Chi Gong.

I bought his first book, ‘Handbook for The Urban Warrior’, at a time when life as I knew it had fallen apart. The cheeky, upbeat style amused me and I couldn’t put it down. I read it from cover to cover, then started all over again ~ taking time to absorb the instructions, one chapter at a time. (The longest journey… and all that.)

Over the years I’ve read many of Stephen’s books (not all ~ some have not seemed relevant at the time); listened to his Audio Motivator CD’s, (bluetoothing them to my new mobile phone as I type), followed the website and signed up for emailed news and freebies, (including the meditation pod I’m using.) Following a recent webinar broadcast, which answered some pressing questions, I pulled ‘Return of the Urban Warrior’ from my bookshelf and am working my way through that.

20130523-095228.jpg

I understand that BD’s irreverent approach to spiritual matters may not please purists. But it works for me ~ and that’s all it has to do! πŸ™‚

May you nurture yourself with whatever suits you best, this Thursday! πŸ™‚

Nurturing Thursday is the idea of Becca Givens, author of ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about this, or to join in, please click here.

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

7 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 14”

  1. Sounds wonderful. I will check it out.
    I am taking a little break from writing as I got a little too concerned with where I am going..which isn’t exactly clear..so I ‘m getting quiet to listen to my heart.. and also being with my little daughter graduating preschool. I’m soaking in all the nurturing I can find.
    Much love and happy Thursday.β™‘
    Laurie

  2. Jacqueline — I will look into this reference … I am needing something as my world is changing more rapidly than I would like!! xoxo Thank you for your contribution to Nurturing Thursday!! β™₯ β™₯ β™₯

  3. Hi Jacqueline! You’ve completely intrigued me with your description of the “barefoot Doctor.” I’m definitely going to introduce myself! I think it’s a wonderful way to nurture myself. πŸ™‚

  4. I also thank you for introducing me to him, and will look into some of those titles. As for spirituality, finding what works for you, personally, is what it’s all about! πŸ™‚ So glad you’re finding some inner peace and happiness.

Leave a Reply

