Lake Vyrnwy

Shivers ran down my spine when I read this week’s ‘Nurturing Thursday’ post by ladyleemanila, and listened to the haunting folk song in Welsh. I was brought up near Lake Vyrnwy, so it brought back happy memories of my childhood , when we would regularly drive around the area on a Sunday afternoon. The water rushing down the side of the dam, when it was overflowing, was exciting and dramatic and the fairytale tower brought to mind the legends of King Arthur and The Lady of Shallot! Revisiting these memories and hearing the ballad in my father’s language has made me so happy that I just have to reblog the post!

ladyleemanila

Lake Vyrnwy is a reservoir in Powys, Wales. Its stone-built dam, built in the 1880s, was the first of its kind in the world. It was built for the purpose of supplying Liverpool and the districts later designated as Merseyside with fresh water. (Wikipedia)

What made you smile this week?

For: Nurt Thurs – Serenity Prayer, Night scenes of a sleepless city – Echoes of my neighbourhood 25, WW #66 rocky arch… , Weekly Smile 26 #weeklysmile, Three Things Thursday: June 30, 2016

View original post

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

5 thoughts on “Lake Vyrnwy”

Leave a Reply

