What’s a Kaboodle?

Over the years I’ve hoarded so many art materials ~ bought and reclaimed ~ that they were spilling into every room in the house. (This, by the way, is completly normal ~ ask any crafter!)

Try as I might, I just couldn’t help myself from examining every piece of rubbish I was about to chuck into the bin, wondering if I could make something from it. And storing it ‘just in case…’.

Something had to be done.

So, with a little help from friends we transformed this:

IMG_1002

into this:

IMG_1701

The Kaboodle is large enough to stash my various collections, (with plenty of room for more;)) Now I can lay my hands on tools and materials with ease ~ quite a new experience for me!

We’ve furnished it with rejects from the home ~ some drawer units and shelving, a cupboard and our pine dining table. (Well it was perpetualy covered in art ‘stuff’, so we could never have a meal at it anyway ;))

With Martin’s paintings hung on the walls, a portable ‘boogie box’ playing in the background andย fairy lights strung along the eaves, it’s a cosy and inspiring creative space. This is where I practice my art.

I’ve been running through the basics,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

experimenting with whatever comes to hand and generally having fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve tackled a few simple projects:

…..and learned what not to do from ‘mistakes’. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve dabbled to my heart’s content for long enough and the time has come to put my newly~acquired skills to test. (Scary! :-/) So I’m moving on to the next phase ~ making Multi Media Collages and papier~mache Tiny Houses.

I’ll be photographing and writing about them as well, that’s all part of the project.

I’ll tell you more about these Works in Progress another time.

๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

7 thoughts on “What’s a Kaboodle?

    1. Oh yes, Gilly, I see what you mean! There are the usual amount but something (not sure what) is obscuring one leg and it’s shadow. The houses are coming on and I’ll show what they look like soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Looking forward seeing your new creations!!! What a lovely space you have created for yourself!! It makes all the difference in the world doesn’t’ it, having a all your “stuff” in one place, all accessible and ready to be used ….

    1. I’m looking forward to seeing them too, Vendulka! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s so much easier to have everything in one place and to be able to lay things out and leave them. Your energy inspires me and its great to see that you and your family are having such a lovely life in your new location!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. It is simply astonishing the difference that a little elbow grease and creativity have done to make your “creative space” bloom! ๐Ÿ™‚ Can’t wait to read and see your next masterpieces, they are always so much fun!

Leave a Reply

