Nurturing Thursday 101

No, I’m not losing the plot and forgetting what day it is (not this time anyway.) I do know that it’s Friday and that this week’s Nurturing Thursday post is one day overdue.

Yesterday I was enoying myself out in the open air, and when I came home the sun was bathing our Kitchen Courtyard so I sat out there instead of sorting out the photos that I’d taken on my phone and writing about them.

I belong to the Carisbrooke branch of The Women’s Institute ~ a voluntary women’s organisation which was set up 101 years ago, to revitalise rural communities and encourage women to become more involved in food production during the first World War. Today it’s not all about home~made jam or making do and mending ~ although we are still active in our communities and belong to the National Federation.

On Thursday afternoon I joined a few other members on a cirular walk around the nearby countryside ~ just for the fun of it. We weren’t collecting funds or raising awareness, this was one of the social activities organised in addition to monthly meetings.

We strolled through Gatcombe village, past quirky cottages and farm buildings, then climbed a steep and winding hill. Resting on the ridge to take in the panoramic vista, we marvelled at how much of The Island we could see and pointed out local landmarks, to help us work out where we were. Single file, we made our way up narrow lanes, before dropping down through woods and emerging where we’d parked our cars over an hour earlier. Feeling virtuous we rounded off the afternoon with tea and cake in a group member’s lovely garden.

So, I took time off from spending hours indoors typing and nurtured myself instead, as you can see. You might also notice that I was invariably bringing up the rear but ambling at my own comfortable pace, I managed to keep up.

Sunshine, gentle excercise, delightful company and cake. What more could anybody ask for?

“Nurturing Thursday’ is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea. If you would like to learn more about it please visit her site.

🙂

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 101

Leave a Reply

