Experimental multi-media collage

This is my first attempt at a multi~media collage ~ constructed during my ‘lets go with the flow and see where it leads us’ phase.

IMG_1131

I had a rough idea of what I’d like to create, but didn’t know if the various materials would work together ~ would metal washers stick to canvas, for example; how would different media inter~act?  Without a definite plan I focused on one section at a time, allowing the design to emerge organically over a period of months.

As a try~out piece I’m happy with it ~ now I understand my lovely husband when he says that some of his early paintings are more about trying out  a particuar technique than creating a perfect picture.

There are parts of it that I’d do differently ~ if I ever made another one like this. Not that I’m intending to just yet ~ there are far too many other interesting avenues to explore and I’m champing at the bit to get stuck in. But I’ve taken on board the lessons that this one taught me so my next attempt won’t be quite so…serendipitous. It’s tricky balancing order with spontanaiety.

A backstory began to emerge and as I worked I imagined a intrepid Victorian explorer (the Brave Soul.) He’s returning from a long and sometimes perilous sea voyage, heading towards the land where his true love awaits.

Cliched and Romantic maybe ~ but that’s the reason why I call this piece ~ Homeward Bound. 

🙂

 

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

10 thoughts on “Experimental multi-media collage”

  1. I like this a lot. It has layers of stories which of course, very much appeals to me. The colours seem nostalgic, so it becomes stories wrapped in memories.

      1. At the moment I’m just going with the inspirational flow, Joss and researching adhesives and sealants that will be durable ~ but I’ll bear your suggestion in mind and let you know if ever I come up with something I think you might like! 🙂

  2. I like it. I always admire artists who can create things like it, I wouldn’t have a clue, or the patience. If I couldn’t finish it in a day I’d give up. So I’ll just have to enjoy yours, are you still going to a craft group?

    1. Patience is a virtue I’m trying to develop Gilly ~ until now I’ve been very quick and spontaneous with my arts and crafts but I make silly mistakes that way and have to spend time putting them ‘right’. So I’m learning from Martin’s more measured attitude that ‘it takes as long as it takes.’ I am enjoying planning ~ before I just ‘slapped it on!’ Thank you for your lovely supportive comment! 🙂

  3. This is so neat! I like the way it flows and the movement of it. The different textures and patterns really add to the appeal, too. I’m looking forward to seeing your next one! 🙂 P.S. Homeward Bound seems like a good title.

    1. Thank you so much, Corina ~ that’s great encouragement. I’m looking forward seeing how the next piece turns out too! It’s all a bit of a mystery but somehow it all comes together in the end. The title didn’t come to mind until I’d almost finished it. 🙂

    1. Thank you Christie ~ I’m very taken by Steampunk art but not very mechanically minded, so I’ve tried to put my own take on it. I’m not very active on Twitter at the moment, apart from sharing campaigns that I’m passionate about. I’ll have to get back into it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

