Nurturing Thursday 102

IMG_1981

‘Today I am creating a better version of myself’

Oprah and Deepak 21 Day Meditation ExperienceGetting Unstuck: Creating a Limitless Life 

I’m currently mid~way through another on~line meditation course, guided by Oprah Winfrey and Deepak Chopra ~ they run two or three every year and I’ve been joining in since 2012.

We’ve had unusually wonderful weather in the UK this week ~ although it is a little cooler and more windy today, so that may not continue over the weekend. Never mind, we’re British ~ we never expect sunny spells to last and when they do we complain it’s too hot!

Tuesday was brilliant though, so I meditated outside in the secluded Kitchen Courtyard. As Deepak closed the session with a softly spoken blessing, I opened my eyes and noticed how vibrant the flowers on the table in front of me were. With the Buddha head in the middle and my collection of interesting rocks, it looks like an altar ~ although that’s completely unintentional. I took a quick snap on my phone and carried on with my day.

This morning, searching for a suitable ‘Nurturing’ post, I flicked through my photostream and was amazed when I saw this picture for the first time. I appreciate that it’s not great ~ the pots are shabby, the plants overblown and technically it’s a disaster. But I ❤ it.

The Buddha must have been smiling down on me 🙂 ~ I couldn’t have caught those rays of light beaming down on my accidental altar, or the vertical rainbow behind it if I’d tried. They were invisible to the naked eye and completely absent from the one taken a few seconds later.

So I’ve decided to use it as this week’s subject, along with the centering thought from Day 7: ‘Today I am creating a better version of myself’ ~ rather than competing with or comparing myself to other people. (Which fits in well with Becca’s original reasons for starting ‘Nurturing Thursday’)

Like the photo I’m not perfect, so there’s plenty of room for improvement ~ but in the meantime I’m just fine as I am!

🙂

‘Nurturing Thursday’ is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea. If you would like to learn more about it please visit her site.

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

15 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 102”

  1. I was going to say that the beams of light and subtle rainbow in the photo add a certain mystical quality to the whole composition. You were indeed at the right place at the right time, and I am convinced that the Universe was speaking to you. 🙂 What a wonderful way to nurture yourself and a great message to others!

  2. I’m doing the same meditation course … I think it’s thanks to you … you have written about it some time ago and I didn’t joined in time last time, but was on their mailing list for this round! It’s great isn’t it??

    1. It is great, Vendulka ~ although it’s over now I still feel the benefits. There will probably be another one nearer Christmas ~ now that you’re on the mailing list you’ll be notified. Namaste! 🙂

    1. That’s so true, Gilly ~ there are too many pressures, internal and external, telling us that we ought to be striving for something ‘more’, or competing to be the ‘best’. The result is that we can end up feeling inadequate, so this meditation was an excellent reminder to focus on our own worth! 🙂

  3. We always can strive to ‘create a better version’. I like how you phrase that. I do know that accepting oneself as we are is also good. As is always the case I think we look for that happy medium. Nothing is ever perfect but it is good to not compare to others. One of the things I seem to always be doing and it never bodes very well for me when I do. As in Buddhist teachings it is best to let go and let be. Easier said than done, of course. My best to you! 🙂

    1. You’re right, Renee ~ we do have to look for the happy medium and try not to be envious of others if we feel they have more or are ‘better’ than we are in some way. Letting go isn’t always easy either ~ but it does become more natural when we accept ourselves as we are. I have held on to pre~conceived notions of how life ‘should’ be and that has caused me discontent in the past ~ but as I get older I’m realising that I’m happy with the way things are. It’s a question of altering my perception, rather than trying to live up to other people’s expectations, or insisting that they should comply with mine. It’s an interesting process isn’t it? I’m sending my best back to you! 🙂

  4. It is a wonderful photo! I admire the way you’ve set apart a peaceful and beautiful place for your meditating. I’ve been a part of the Deepak/Oprah meditation series many times, but I’ve missed some, including this latest. I think the centering thought you shared from Day 7 is really valuable to hold onto and meditate upon often!

    1. Thank you Debra ~ it was accidental but it thrilled me! You’re right that this centering thought is one to bear in mind when going about our daily lives as well as in meditation ~ I find it very liberating. I’m sure there will be another series before the end of the year, so maybe you’ll be able to join in. In the meantime enjoy settling into retirement with your husband ~ I’ve found that it does take a while to find the balance and to get used to not having to go to work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

