Nurturing Thursday 103

As it was my birthday at the end of July and because we dont bother going away on holiday, Martin and I decided to have a ‘staycation’ last week. We’re both retired, live on a beautiful island and have the most comfortable bed ever ~ why would we go to the trouble of traveling anywhere else? Maybe next year. πŸ˜‰

We had a great time ~ eating ice~cream for breakfast, catching up with friends, reading in the courtyard and taking leisurely walks with Indie. I hardly looked at Facebook, ignored my emails and didn’t open any letters that looked ‘official’ ~ just those that were clearly birthday cards.

We’re ‘back’ now but I’m still in holiday mode ~ plus our power was out for most of yesterday, meaning that I couldn’t prepare a Nurturing Thursday post. I’ve been trying since early morning to compose something meaningful and uplifting but it just isn’t flowing as well as I’d like.

So I’m going to stop struggling, grab my ‘chick~lit’ novel and head out to my favourite deck chair in the sunshine. But before I go I’ll leave you with the link to Becca’s site, where you will find more organised contributors givingΒ ‘this planet a much needed shot of fun, support and positive energy.’

Enjoy!

πŸ™‚

‘Nurturing Thursday’ is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea. If you would like to learn more about it please visit her site.Β 

 

19 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 103

  1. It’s very windy here Sarah, so it should be blowing your way soon ~ and the ‘IOW Weather’ forecast on FB predicts a good weekend, so I’m going to concentrate on topping up my tan. πŸ™‚ Glad to see that you’re settling into your new home ~ this is definitely the best place to live! πŸ™‚

    1. Oh, we’ve got the wind. It’s so strong here that it keeps lifting off and blowing away the cover of my mobility scooter! Yes, I saw the weekend would be good. Hurrah! It is the best place to live. I’ve been struck by how charming and kind everyone is from the people who work in the pub next door to the Waitrose delivery guys. I feel like I’ve joined one big happy family! I’m sure there are downsides but I’ll take them in my stride. πŸ˜€

      1. Oh dear, the last thing you need is your cover flying off over the channel! Despite what the Ofsted Chairman says, this is a beautiful island and people are very friendly ~ that struck us when we came here. After 13 years we haven’t really discovered any downsides ~ yes, the ferry fares are expensive but we hardly ever travel to the mainland anyway as there’s so much to occupy us here. Every area is different, so a trip to our dentist in Bembridge feels like a mini~holiday ~ walking the dog along the beach and visiting a different library (as long as we time it right) after we’ve had our check~ups. What we found really refreshing is that no~one cares what your occupation is ~ when I retired from Social Housing and Martin was made redundant we both cleaned the local High School part time. (I said I’d give it a go for a month and ended up staying 9 years!) No-one looked down on us, in fact they were envious of our work~life balance and we did feel like part of a family, with people of all ages ~ from teenagers to an 80 year old pensioner ~ getting on with the job together. We just love it here and I’m sure you will too Sarah! πŸ™‚

      2. The Ofsted Chairman doesn’t know his proverbial from his elbow! I wonder if your dentist is in my road – Bembridge Dental Practice? I’m going there tomorrow for the first time. Would be funny if it was.

      3. Yes, that is our dentist too! We tried a few different surgeries before settling on this one and we’ve had excellent service from them ~ so it’s worth the journey across the Island twice a year. I hope you get on well with them too!:)

  2. I understand completely! I’ve done that for the last few years, but not for a whole week. (That requires a companion, I believe, because one does have to watch with whom they keep company!) I give myself a day off at least once a month where I do ONLY WHAT I WANT and very the bare minimum of what has to be tended.

    1. Good for you, Amy! I’m grateful to have a partner who enjoys the simple things in life and who shares my sense of fun. Martin is great at helping me to figure out what I would like to do. After years of looking after a family and working in caring professions I found it difficult to even know what that was ~ but with his encouragement I’m discovering how to nurture myself! πŸ™‚

    1. Ice cream is one of my favourite foods too, Becca, so it was my ideal birthday treat. While I was savouring it I thought about the recent picture of your husband that you posted on Facebook, so I knew you’d understand! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

