Occupy Blogosphere 24

At the end of this month I’ll turn sixty and I’m surprised to find it more significant than I thought.

On one hand I’m excited to be this age, living in such interesting times. But on the other, I have to accept that, unless I live to a hundred and twenty, there’s more behind me than ahead. This sobering thought ~ along with the changeable weather (it’s pouring again……surprise!), and another week at work, until the summer holiday ~ Left me feeling a little jaded this morning, with nothing positive to report.

Then The Artist returned from his morning job and put everything into perspective. (He is rather good at that.)

As a Personal Assistant with Age UK, Martin visits the elderly, doing anything they ask, apart from dog~walking and gardening (his choice.) But he’s happy to do chores and run errands; fill out paperwork, play Scrabble ~ or anything else to help them live in their own homes for longer.

But it’s far from a one way exchange. Apart from the wages and his obvious job satisfaction, his assignments have shown him that we should all do whatever we enjoy doing, while we still can.

Some clients are in their eighties ~ two are ninety~five; independent and mentally agile but requiring a little help with the things they can’t manage. To them he’s ‘just a nipper’ ~ relatively speaking, a young man. (He is to me, too, since I am older by a year and a bit.)

‘If we live as long as they have,’ he said, when I moaned about my age and the weather, ‘we’ve got a good thirty years in front of us. Now cheer up!’

And I have. 🙂

P.S. It’s still raining.

20120712-211359z.jpg

The Occupy Blogosphere movement was started by Amy, author of Souldipper’s Blog, to light up the Blogosphere with a shot of positive energy, each week. To read her most recent post ~ and for more information on how to join in ~ please click here: http:souldipper.wordpress.com

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

17 thoughts on “Occupy Blogosphere 24”

    1. He is excellent, Amy, I appreciate how lucky I am to have him. But we do balance each other out and when he’s down, the roles are reversed. This merging of male and female energy takes effort but the rewards are well worth it! 🙂

  1. Glad the Artist cheered you up, Jacqueline! I’m ten years behind you and having the same thoughts. The good part is that we realize we can make the most of each day, find the very best each day has to offer.
    Have a wonderful weekend 🙂
    ~Marion
    P.S. It is also raining in the Netherlands, pouring I might say.

    1. Thank you, Marion, I’ve just found this comment. Actually, since my birthday, I feel much more positive about my age. Martin believes that we’re just entering the best phase of our lives and ~ now the sun has come out at last ~ I must say I agree with him! My 50’s was a decade of huge adjustment, now I aim to relax! 🙂

    1. I know, Pete ~ there seems to be no light at the end of the jet stream. 😦 It’s a pity, when so many other celebrations are happening in Britain, this year.
      Nevertheless, I fully intend to celebrate next week, come rain or come shine! 🙂

  2. I think you’re as old as you feel. I’m a year older than you and I just walked the Camino to Santiago, but when my Granny was 50 she was an old lady who could only walk as far as the bench at the beach…

  3. Thanks, Rosie, I appreciate the encouragement. Your posts about your pilgrimage inspire me to be one of those busy old ladies, with a life full of laughter 🙂

  4. “Be still, sad heart, and cease repining; Behind the clouds the sun is shining; Thy fate is the common fate of all, Into each life some rain must fall, Some days must be dark and dreary…” ~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

    It’s all a matter of perspective, as you know. 😉 Just think of how many lives you have made better because you have been here! As for your other half, yep, it seems like he was the perfect choice to complement you, Jacqueline.

  5. Longfellow was right, Corina, thank you for reminding me that there has to be shade to show the light! I’m rarely ‘down’ for long, though and ~ as you say ~ I have the ideal companion, who will never allow me to wallow in self-pity! 🙂

  6. I share your feelings at times too (regarding age..I’m about a year ahead of you)…especially since it’s been hard to find work…my worthiness has taken a beating at times. But the impending arrival of my granddaughter will change my life drastically when I move nearby to help care for her while her parents are at work. Bliss!

  7. I don’t think about it often but I know that my career gave me positive feedback and validation, without which I someimes struggled with self~worth. You have wonderful days ahead, Gayle, surrounded by your family and helping to raise your precious granddaughter ~ I look forward tonreadingnavout it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

